Sign in to follow this  
O'Murchadha

Where to move?

This is my first post.  Be gentle.

My dream is to retire youngish and cruise the world.  I have a frankly obscene amount to learn before I can do that.  I live in Ohio.  I don't sail.

I'm taking my first few ASA's next month and, assuming I love it and don't suck, I really do want to start making a plan.

Here's my question:  My youngest graduates from high school in May 2022, and he will NOT be staying in Ohio (he's made this clear).  With my job, I can live pretty much anywhere I want.  At this point I will be three to four years away from retirement.  So where should I move to get to work on my dream?

I'd be looking for a place with a local school that offers all the training, as well as - probably more importantly - a supportive community where I can continue to learn and find opportunities to sail before I own a boat.  I am not rich.  I wouldn't see the point moving somewhere with a very short season.  Other than that everything is on the table.

Any thoughts very much appreciated.  Thanks, anarchists. 

1 minute ago, O'Murchadha said:

My dream is to retire youngish and cruise the world.  I have a frankly obscene amount to learn before I can do that.  I live in Ohio.  I don't sail.

I'm taking my first few ASA's next month and, assuming I love it and don't suck, I really do want to start making a plan.

Here's my question:  My youngest graduates from high school in May 2022, and he will NOT be staying in Ohio (he's made this clear).  With my job, I can live pretty much anywhere I want.  At this point I will be three to four years away from retirement.  So where should I move to get to work on my dream?