B.J. Porter

Congrats Jacinda Ardern & Labour

Seems they got the straight majority in parliament, National lost seats and NZ First got a giant boot in the nuts.

I'm not a Kiwi, but I've spent a lot of time here with Ardern through both of the big crises in her tenure and we've been very impressed. I can't speak as much to their social programs and economic policies as they don't affect me much so I have no real experience with them, but from what I've read it seems that if I were a Kiwi I'd likely be a Labour voter.

• Like 3

Could there be a lesson there for other pols? Handle COVID effectively and you will be rewarded. The opposite is true.

1 hour ago, Shortforbob said:

Acceptance speech.

Gracious.

If you can get round the funny eccint :)

Look who’s talking !!! :D 

• Like 3

12 minutes ago, Bristol-Cruiser said:

Could there be a lesson there for other pols? Handle COVID effectively and you will be rewarded. The opposite is true.

It's pretty easy to lock down an island with 14 approved points of entry.

https://www.mpi.govt.nz/news-and-resources/resources/registers-and-lists/places-of-first-arrival-seaports/

The US has 328 and that's just for ships   https://www.cbp.gov/border-security/ports-entry

Of course, you can actually sail into any of thousands of ports on the coasts and phone in.  That's just to do it legally.

Then of course there is the 3987 miles of land border with Canada (please add the 1538 miles with Alaska) and the 1933 miles with Mexico.

I don 't think there are a billion air entries and exits in NZ as there were in the US in 2018. https://www.bts.dot.gov/newsroom/2018-traffic-data-us-airlines-and-foreign-airlines-us-flights

I'm sure you consider the comparison fair though.

4 minutes ago, Saorsa said:

https://www.mpi.govt.nz/news-and-resources/resources/registers-and-lists/places-of-first-arrival-seaports/

The US has 328 and that's just for ships   https://www.cbp.gov/border-security/ports-entry