climenuts

Cutlass Bearing & Engine Mount Replacement

Looking for a sanity check on an engine mount replacement, realignment, and cutlass bearing replacement. As a Mechanical Engineer my practical DIY skills are lacking and I'm a bit intimidated by taking this on myself. Boat's a C&C 29mk2 with a 10° offset prop shaft rigidly coupled to a Yanmar 2GM. Checked archived threads and saw no real reviews on the PYI mounts or alignment methodology.

After 430 Engine Hours and another ~350 hours of fixed-prop spinning sailing since the last replacement my cutlass bearing is toast. Intense vibration, sounds like the shaft is hitting the log, etc. materialized since my last haul-out where everything seemed fine. I replaced the prop during the last haul-out which may have made any previous issues much worse. I reached my torso to the shaft from the dinghy and sure enough there's quite a bit of play at the end of the shaft.

I'm thinking that this much wear this fast must be a a result of an alignment issue. I'm determined to get this job done right this time so I can comfortably go two years between haul-outs and bearing replacements. The engine mounts are without a doubt original.

General game plan is to replace the engine mounts with the boat in the water one at a time using the old mounts to get "close" to the current alignment. I'm thinking I will use the PYI replacements. To re-align I'll de-couple the rigid coupling, center the shaft in the log, and re-align vertically, athwartships, and pitch/yaw using the feeler gauge method. Once the shaft is re-coupled I'll haul the boat (or use our tide grid if I'm brave enough) and replace the cutlass bearing. I plan on biting the bullet and buying the strut-pro tool. With the bearing out I'll have a look at the alignment through the log and strut from the outside of the boat and make sure it looks right; adjusting the alignment again as necessary.