Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Bash24

Laser Capsize Question

Allright guys, here is what happened to me this weekend during some Laser Frostbiting.

Be kind, I am a little new at this Laser thing.

Downwind, heavy air nasty deathroll, capsize to windward. I go in the water, the boat is pointing dead downwind and the sail is still full with the boom sticking skyward. I make some mistakes at this point and the bottom line is that it took way to long to right the boat and get me out of the water and I just got too cold and it pretty much ruined my day.

The first thing I did was I swam around the transom to the bottom of the boat and tried to right her. But, that wouldn't work because the sail is full, so I swam back around the transom grabbed the mainsheet and pulled the sail down. Then, back around the transom again and tried to right the boat. I had a devil of a time because the boat is still pointing dead down and not into the wind. By this time I had been in the water too long and started to get real cold.

All my other capsizes have been when reaching or going to weather with a leeward capsize, no problem getting the boat up there. But what should I have done, in what order to get the boat righted as quickly as possible? I am guessing it is a combo of getting the sail down, getting the bow into the wind and then getting on the centerboard. How do you guys do that as quickly as possible to get the boat upright and get back into the race?

Allright guys, here is what happened to me this weekend during some Laser Frostbiting.

Be kind, I am a little new at this Laser thing.