Jump to content


B&G compass sensor - fastnet cable ??


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 micha571

micha571

    Anarchist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 236 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted 27 September 2010 - 12:25 PM

Hello,



Iíve managed to get a B&G halcyon compass-sensor to fit into my B&G Hydra System.

It is supposed to plug right into the fastnet cable.

Unfortunately, I donít have the cable for it, only a fitting plug.

Can anyone tell me to which pins of the plug the wires of the fastnet-cables (red, black, green, white, screen) go?


The attachment shows the six pins on the compass-sensor.




Thanks guys.



Michael

Attached Files



#2 fbrice

fbrice

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Location:Marseille / France

Posted 05 January 2011 - 09:38 AM

Hi Michael,
did you get any news from somewhere else, i've exactly the same problem!
rgds

#3 micha571

micha571

    Anarchist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 236 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted 06 January 2011 - 07:34 AM

Sorry, no.

It turned out I had a wrong compass sensor.
So I am desparately searching for a used Halcyon 2000 compass sensor.
You don't have one for sale? :)

regards, Michael

#4 SteveH

SteveH

    Anarchist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 110 posts

Posted 06 January 2011 - 01:42 PM

http://www.myleselectronics.com

For used B&G.

#5 micha571

micha571

    Anarchist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 236 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted 06 January 2011 - 01:48 PM

Thanks.
I've asked Myles, he doesn't have a compass.

Michael

#6 NoStrings

NoStrings

    Anarchist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,077 posts
  • Location:Richmond, CA

Posted 06 January 2011 - 10:40 PM

If you're willing to pay to have it fixed, I know someone that has one sitting in his garage. PM me and I'll put you guys in contact.

#7 micha571

micha571

    Anarchist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 236 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted 07 January 2011 - 05:18 PM

PM sent.

Michael

#8 x-79

x-79

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

Posted 11 May 2013 - 12:45 PM

Does anybody know if its possible to modify the black Compass(similar to halcyon 2000) to fit the standard fastnet cable?

 

http://ckdboats.blog...ass-wiring.html



#9 Erik O

Erik O

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:B&G Hydra, Hercules, H2000, GoFree, Zeus Touch

Posted 11 May 2013 - 06:24 PM

Does anybody know if its possible to modify the black Compass(similar to halcyon 2000) to fit the standard fastnet cable?

 

http://ckdboats.blog...ass-wiring.html

 

This compass seems to be for the ACP1, the old h2000 pilot, check the manual

http://www.myleselec...pdfs/hpilot.pdf

page 4-11 lists the connections

 

It could also be the NETWORK type compass, Myles has the manual:

http://www.myleselec...susermanual.pdf


Edited by Erik O, 11 May 2013 - 06:40 PM.


#10 x-79

x-79

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

Posted 12 May 2013 - 05:27 PM

Many thanks for info. I guess it is the pilot compass as the pilot compass cable got 6 pins(refer to manual) I attached a photo of the compass as well.

 

This article says that the center pin (red cable) have no function. http://ckdboats.blog...ass-wiring.html

 

This means that I can connect a 5 pin fastnet cable to the compass and it will work as long as the other wires are the same as halcyon 2000?

Attached Files



#11 Erik O

Erik O

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:B&G Hydra, Hercules, H2000, GoFree, Zeus Touch

Posted 14 May 2013 - 07:30 AM

The Fastnet cable is completely different (and only uses 4 wires: 2 are power, 2 are data) and is a digital signal

 

The NETWORK compass uses 2 for power and 3 for signal (North/South, East/West and a common/neutral) and I think they use a SIN(sinus) function. Not 100% sure about that.



#12 x-79

x-79

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

Posted 14 May 2013 - 10:53 PM

This means that the halcyon 2000 Compass got 4 pins Connector for the fastnet cable?






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users