912 replies to this topic

#1 memopad

memopad

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,516 posts

Posted 22 November 2010 - 12:45 AM

I have way too many questions about all kinds of random things, I think i'm in over my head. I'm not sure yet how far i want to take this project. I don't have much money but i want to do things the "right" way. Nothing i've found so far really needs to be done, outside a couple of bigger cracks in the deck. Mostly this is preventative maintenence and making things look almost like new. I'll try and document what happens along the way, and will be looking for lots and lots of advice on how to do procede. I'm new to all this and don't really have anyone in person that can show me the ropes. The updates will hopefully be weekly. The boat is about an hour and a half away so i can only get there during the weekends.

I took some photos of the "progress" from this weekend. My first goal is to strip everything from the deck, patch some old hardware holes, fill some cracks, and repaint. Step one is removing the handrails and everything else. Haven't decided on if the toerail is comming off yet. I'd like to get everything perfect so i think it will eventually. Anyway, here's where i'm at thus far.

After removing the cockpit hatch cover, i was surprised to see non-skid under it. I'm guessing the cover was added after the boat was new? Also thought it was odd that the wood rails the hatch slides on stuck up at the end. Looks like they should be curved to fit the deck, but not sure how the hatch would slide then. I'm guessing again the whole thing was added after-wards, maybe original broke who knows. For now i've got the wood slides and the hatch off, they were just wood-screw looking things stuck in the fiberglass. Hard to back out, had to drill out a couple of them.

Attached File  Ref1.jpg   100.5K   83 downloadsAttached File  Ref2.jpg   100.65K   81 downloadsAttached File  Ref3.jpg   118.94K   82 downloads