#1 Code 2

Code 2

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 505 posts
  • Interests:stuff....

Posted 13 February 2012 - 12:46 AM

I ripped this picture off the front page of the Farr 30. What is going on with what appears to be 2 kites up at the same time and the foreguy is attached to a clew also? I have some experience on these boats - never seen this one. Whats up? Flame away....

Cheers!

Attached Files

#2 dash34

dash34

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,577 posts
  • Interests:Sailing my boat, playing bass and classical guitar, flying sailplanes, skiing, cycling and hiking.

Posted 13 February 2012 - 12:49 AM

I think this is a standard FU procedure known as a "spinnaker peel"...

:ph34r:

dash

#3 Code 2

Code 2

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 505 posts

Posted 13 February 2012 - 12:52 AM

I guess I assumed that - just looks like more work than necessary.....

#4 ropetrick

ropetrick

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,478 posts

Posted 13 February 2012 - 01:38 AM

Bareheaded is less work.

And slower.

#5 BarePoles

BarePoles

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,257 posts
  • Interests:sailing, architecture, running, Texans

Posted 13 February 2012 - 01:44 AM

Race much? We once did a spin peel less than a quarter mile from the finish on a 250 mile distance race. :)

#6 LoopyGirdleSniffer

LoopyGirdleSniffer

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,392 posts

Posted 13 February 2012 - 01:45 AM

It's an outside peel from a reaching kite to a running kite. No twists or knots= bow guy did a stellar job of it.

#7 dash34

dash34

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,577 posts
  • Interests:Sailing my boat, playing bass and classical guitar, flying sailplanes, skiing, cycling and hiking.

Posted 13 February 2012 - 01:54 AM