Under a black flag start, can a boat be OCS and not be BFD?
30.3 Black Flag Rule
If a black flag has been displayed, no part of a boat's hull, crew or
equipment shall be in the triangle formed by the ends of the starting
line and the first mark during the last minute before her starting signal.
If you click on the image (so you can actually see it) the boats immediately to windward of the signal boat and pin boat are OCS (On Course Side) at the starting signal, but not BFD (provided that they got there without ever being in the triangle - rotate the boat by the pin 180 degrees if it makes you feel better).
There is no requirement to "go around the ends" in 30.3, so dip starts are legal - as long as you're not in the triangle from a minute before the start until the start.
Of course, they would have to dip down completely below the line in order to start properly, in which case, they are no longer OCS. However, according to the definition of OCS:so if they don't start properly, they are scored OCS.
OCS Did not start; on the course side of the starting line at her
starting signal and failed to start, or broke rule 30.1
So a boat can be OCS on a black flag start and not be BFD.
There was a bit of discussion in the other thread about whether this was right or wrong, or a good thing or a bad thing.
So, at a Black Flag start, a Race Office, in a starboard end race committee boat, makes the starting signal, happy that his voice recorder has got all the BFD miscreants, then about 10 seconds later sees a boat, an entrant in the class just started, approach from over his right shoulder, on the course side of the race committee boat, from outside the course,
1. The boat crosses the starting line from the course side to the pre-start side entirely, then starts in the direction of the first mark:
HOW DO YOU THINK THE RO IS MOST LIKELY TO SCORE THIS BOAT?
2. The boat dips back, obviously trying to dip-start, but does not completely cross the starting line onto the pre-start side before hardening on and sailing off in the direction of the first mark
NOW, HOW DO YOU THINK THE RO IS MOST LIKELY TO SCORE THIS BOAT?
Any difference between what you think the RO is likely to do and what the rules discussion above indicates is the correct thing to do?