73 replies to this topic

#1 MidPack

MidPack

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,252 posts

Posted 22 June 2012 - 02:26 PM

I did search but didn't find my situation, though I am sure this is an easy one for experienced racers (I'm a newb).

A slightly faster boat (PHRF ∆ 10 secs) chose to pass us to windward downwind. We were prepared and came up to defend, though later than ideal in hindsight. The windward boat did alter course a little, but as we continued to come up, they slowed (or stopped) coming up and just camped there until they could clear us. They could have sailed much higher. We called for them to come up, but they didn't react or say anything. We sailed close but did not want to have a collision, we're aware of the rules re: avoiding collision/allowing them keep clear.

So which takes the priority in this situation, ROW or keeping clear? We did not protest, and in all fairness they were forced to alter their starboard course by a few degrees to pass behind us on port during the last downwind leg, and they did not protest either.

Just asking for future reference...

#2 coyotepup

coyotepup

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 269 posts

Posted 22 June 2012 - 02:36 PM

If they didn't hit you, then they kept clear. They're not obligated to come up any more than they have to, to avoid a collision. No rule against camping in your breeze.

#3 kano

kano

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 69 posts

Posted 22 June 2012 - 02:47 PM

Based on the statement below, they were not keeping clear. The windward boat may have a different story, but if they didn't go up and the leeward boat could not alter course freely without hitting windward then windward is not keeping clear.