Brass, thanks for the reply, but don't you see this as an invitation to barge, especially for a faster boat in a mixed fleet?
I sort of agree with this: notwithstanding Brass's observation that the "barger" shoots themselves in the foot, it seems that some boats take the attitude that they just might get away with jamming themselves in there and then using rules related to keeping clear to threaten that if you protest me you'll be disqualified also, so they go ahead and take thier chances.
Not so much with larger boats, but seems to be more prevalent with smaller boats.
It should not be even an issue with smaller boats. While RRS 14 requires me to ATTEMPT
to avoid a collision, it does not require me to ANTICIPATE you will break a rule and thus cause me to do so. So that means that UNTIL IT IS OBVIOUS that you are going to break a rule, I do not have to BEGIN to try avoiding contact.
So in this situation in small boats, until the skipper of B sees Green's bow overlap her stern leeward quarter, B does not even have to begin altering course to avoid G.
Since by that drawing, there was no room for G to even make it in between B and Y, an attempt by B to luff up would cause contact as would not luffing up. and in light winds with limited maneuverability, luffing up is going to take time.
So even in smaller boats RRS 14 will actually rebound on G in that even if the situation was such that B and G entered The Zone Overlapped, when it became clear that B was not going to give G room to pass between Y and B, G's RESPONSIBLITY then was to bear away and take Y's stern.
There is no way that RRS 19 induces the kind of "barging" described.
Note that RRS 19 actually does not apply in this case. Y is an obstruction, but since G and B are both close hauled RRS 20 applys
When approaching an obstruction, a boat sailing close-hauled orabove may hail for room to tack and avoid another boat on the same tack. After a boat hails,
(a) she shall give the hailed boat time to respond;
Notice that G in this case CLEARLY DID NOT give B "time to respond" (remember "time to respond" is dependent on the prevailing wind and sea condistions).
Note that 20.2 would ONLY exonorate G if she the only violations were Section A and RRS 15 and RRS 16
When a boat is taking room to which she is entitled under rule 20.1(, she shall be exonerated if she breaks a rule of Section A or rule 15 or 16.
But since the violation here is RRS 18.. G is SOL.
now if Y were a random boat in the middle of the course luffing up, then YES under RRS 19, G could have asked B for room to pass Y to weather. BUT ONLY IF SHE HAILED FOR ROOM IN TIME.
No the rules don't have any encouragement for "barging"
Basically when asked if RRS 19 would override RRS 18 when the split was first introduced, Dick Rose opined in the presentation he gave that he could see boat like G, hailing for room at the obstruction, but when given that room, immediately taking her penalty turns. The example he gave was of a mark that was say a nasty set of steel pilings. with a current sweep. You don't want to force a boat into the pilings - that's unseamanlike. So you let them hail for Obstruction... BUT since Exonoration DOES NOT include RRS 18, you get penalized.