21 replies to this topic

#1 Point Break

Point Break

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,154 posts

Posted 21 July 2012 - 08:14 PM

Okay, long story short, I'm not an electrician but I play one on TV. Today I'm pretending to be one in my attic.....but I'm not exactly uninformed on the subject either. So.............I just replaced my thousand year old 80 amp panel.......yep 80........with a 200 amp. I'm pulling some new circuits and am taking advantage of existing conduit. I can't get to the top plate to put in any new conduit where the panel is located because of the roof-line angle.....even if I was willing to open the wall.....which I'm not. I have a mix of 1/2" & 3/4" FMC conduit. Just one of them (a 3/4") has 3 existing THHN #10. I'm pulling THHN #12 for each new circuit. I can find plenty of charts for max conduit fill using all same size conductors, but I can't find any charts for how to calculate max fill for mixed size conductors in the same conduit. I'm not interested in jamming them to the max but I want to make sure I keep within the code requirements and safe operation.

Any resources/help?

#2 floating dutchman

floating dutchman

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,883 posts

Posted 21 July 2012 - 09:06 PM

It's a heat thing. the reason to not overfill the conduit is to stop the conduit and wires gettin too hot.

"I can find plenty of charts for max conduit fill using all same size conductors"

If you can figgure out how full the conduit will be with this information. ie 2/3. You should be good to go.

#3 Point Break

Point Break

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,154 posts

Posted 21 July 2012 - 09:21 PM

It's a heat thing. the reason to not overfill the conduit is to stop the conduit and wires gettin too hot.

"I can find plenty of charts for max conduit fill using all same size conductors"