17 replies to this topic

#1 zexwax

zexwax

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Interests:music,sailing,design,drinking

Posted 15 October 2012 - 11:44 PM

hi im new to the sailing anarchy forum. just looking for some advise.

i sail on a formula 28 modified half tonner.
our current irc is 0.914 we have got the hull remeasured she came in lighter but with a sorter water line and on the trial cert she has dropped 2 points already. the owners are considering getting a non overlapping battened jib as aposed to an overlapping and putting a 50 square meter kite on i think the curent kite is only 42 square meters. our sail maker reckons this new configuration will give us a further 5 point drop witch is 7 points off for next season happy days.

but im just wondering has anybody had any experience converting to a non overlapping headsail for irc racing?
what are the pro's and cons ??

thanks, Johnny from Ireland.

#2 MSA

MSA

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 795 posts

Posted 16 October 2012 - 03:33 AM

What is the average wind conditions where you race?
Does the boat suffer in light airs already?
What is the Area drop?
Does your Spreader angle and chainplate position allow the correct Aspect ratio headsail with the correct sheeting angles?
Will the foils tolerate this CE change?
Will this position you in bad air against your competition?

It is a given less area will give you a lower rating. But whether or not the boat is bettering it's Speed/Rating ratio is another thing.

#3 Evo

Evo

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,961 posts

Posted 16 October 2012 - 06:58 AM

Dear Johnny from Ireland....it's advice you seek and much will be forthcoming once you have posted pics of Dick Dastardly's "girlfriends" tits and been told to Fuck Off!

While you may have been advised by MSA....he is from Western Australia and not to be trusted.

Hope this helps

#4 MSA

MSA

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 795 posts