Jump to content


Nexus Wind Transducer Stuck


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Leon T

Leon T

    Anarchist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Location:Mid Ches Bay

Posted 26 October 2012 - 07:52 PM

Looks like the wind transducer decided to get itself stuck, so I now have to endure a ride up the bosun's chair.

Any suggestions on the cause / fix before I head up? It's been in service about 10 years. I'm thinking of wiping it down and some McLube to see if that will fix the problem.

Thanks in advance,

Leon.

#2 radicalmove

radicalmove

    Anarchist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 369 posts

Posted 28 October 2012 - 09:12 AM

Wow Leo ! Any wind tranducer lasting 10 years is very good.

But there is still hope. What do you mean "stuck" ? Do the blades
still spin, does the entire unit move with the wind, an/or are the
values being reported by your repeater (nexus multi, wind data, etc)
just the same number. Need more info. In your area where it is not
uncommon for boats not to get hauled for winter, did the unit get
checked for things like spiders' nests (very common), lubricated, etc.

The unit has several components that could have gone bad. Assuming that
you have checked out the repeaters and they are still good, take down the
mast head unit, gently pull it apart and see if you can see anything wrong.
If everything about the unit is spinning, moving freely, and importantly all
looks well from MD to server to repeater, it is probably the printed circuit
board inside the mast head unit. I'm pretty sure nexus is no longer making
printed circuit boards for your age of unit. Also, I'm not sure NX2 units
compatible with your server and /or repeaters depending on how you have the
system in your boat configured.

Good Luck

#3 Christian

Christian

    Anarchist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,386 posts
  • Location:Hopefully on the water

Posted 28 October 2012 - 03:10 PM

Wow Leo ! Any wind tranducer lasting 10 years is very good.

But there is still hope. What do you mean "stuck" ? Do the blades
still spin, does the entire unit move with the wind, an/or are the
values being reported by your repeater (nexus multi, wind data, etc)
just the same number. Need more info. In your area where it is not
uncommon for boats not to get hauled for winter, did the unit get
checked for things like spiders' nests (very common), lubricated, etc.

The unit has several components that could have gone bad. Assuming that
you have checked out the repeaters and they are still good, take down the
mast head unit, gently pull it apart and see if you can see anything wrong.
If everything about the unit is spinning, moving freely, and importantly all
looks well from MD to server to repeater, it is probably the printed circuit
board inside the mast head unit. I'm pretty sure nexus is no longer making
printed circuit boards for your age of unit. Also, I'm not sure NX2 units
compatible with your server and /or repeaters depending on how you have the
system in your boat configured.

Good Luck

NX2 wind transducers are compatible with Nexus Classic server.

Probably full of spiderwebs and gull shit - take it down and clean it and it will most likely spin again. Be careful with the lube

#4 Leon T

Leon T

    Anarchist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Location:Mid Ches Bay

Posted 29 October 2012 - 03:02 PM

Thanks for the advice. Yeah, the blades are spinning fine, it's the whole unit that's stuck in place and doesn't turn with the wind.

I'll take it down and clean it up.

Thanks again, Leon.

#5 juustright

juustright

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Location:Ponce Inlet, FL
  • Interests:Some racing mostly cruising

Posted 20 November 2012 - 12:30 PM

Leon,
Were you able to get your wind transducer unstuck? I'm having the same problem and am about to go aloft to check it out.

#6 Leon T

Leon T

    Anarchist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Location:Mid Ches Bay

Posted 29 November 2012 - 03:04 PM

Haven't been able to make the climb. Life getting in the way ....

#7 inspired

inspired

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Location:Geelong
  • Interests:Sailing

Posted 10 December 2012 - 10:59 AM

Hi Leon,
I posted a similar question last year, see thread "Wind transducer maintenance", (Single vane transducer) I eneded up replacing the nose cone and the bearings in the vertical section. Received info from Woolfy on how to do this, can pass this on if thats what you need to do. If water has found its way into the MHU the circuit board maybe stuffed, they are not available anymore so a new mhu might be your next option.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users