3 replies to this topic

#1 Ozsailer

Ozsailer

• Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 11 November 2012 - 11:29 AM

Hello all,
yes I know I'm a newbie, dont know nuthin and I'll go have sexual intercourse with myself then HTFU after I write this but for now having got the pleasantries out of the way I need some assistance from your collective knowledge. I have a 38ft Centre Cockpit which I have been gradually upgrading over the last five years. Nearly finished to go cruising and just outfitting the final electronics. I am now ready to install a Chartplotter and all the new models appear to be touch screen. I am leaning towards the Garmin 720S and the Simrad NSS7. The only problem I have is that where I plan to mount the GPS neare the binacle can get a bit damp in rainy conditions and I have concerns that if the face of the touch screen is wet it will not function as the water will stop the sensor in the screen from working. I recall wacthing a youtube video not so long ago clearly depicting this. I can relocate the unit to under the dodger but this is someway where it would be easily seen while underway if I were at the wheel. There is a Lowrance 2 generation chartplotter that works the same as the touch screen model that works via buttons and rotary switches. Your advise is most welcome.

Greg H
Lake Macquarie
New South Wales
Land Down Under

#2 b6sfull

b6sfull

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 651 posts

Posted 11 November 2012 - 11:45 AM

I went with the Garmin 740 over the Simrad NSS7 as i felt the graphics were much better, however, the Simrad has a faster processor. Played with my Garmin this past season and I like it. Keep in mind the 720/740 plotters are stand alone units. The Simrad NSS7 can interact with your other electronics you may have onboard.
My Garmin is mounted at the binnacle, open to the elements. It never let me down in dry or wet conditions. I saw that vid also and i was worried too. Its all bulshit IMHO.