#1 Roleur

Roleur

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 705 posts
  • Interests:Pacific Cup 2014

Posted 15 December 2012 - 11:03 AM

Hey, this isn't another what boat should I get thread, because finally, we already have the boat! Now we just need to make this happen. Who else is in or thinking about it for 2014?

I posted a similar post on the J/Anarchy site because we have a J/120 and I had some boat specific questions, but there are probably (hopefully) a number of more general questions that I and others contemplating the race might have. Let this serve as the collection point. Please, if you've done this race or a similar race before, post your thoughts.

We have a J/120 that my wife and I are planning to Double-Hand in the next Pac Cup. I just found out earlier this week that I am being transferred back to the US, making the logistics a reality for something I've been dreaming about for 20+ years. The two of us sailed our boat across the Atlantic this summer and that went great. Our boat has a proven track record prior to our ownership, but after that we are really lacking in race experience. We raced a lot in Seattle 15-20 years ago, more in dinghies and under 30 footers. Since then not so much. That's okay, we still have 18 months to prepare and practice and it will be an adventure regardless of how fast we go.
  • Has anyone decided not to do the 2014 race specifically due to concerns over tsunami debris?
  • Are there any specific tips to driving with an asymmetrical (at night?), particularly on a boat that doesn't actually plane. Anything particularly different or harder than driving with a normal chute?
  • Our boat will be based out of Corpus Christi for the year leading up to Pac Cup. Seems like a decent place to practice with the local breeze. Not so different from the Bay is it?