rule 13, leeward boat tacking too close?

rules of thumb?

• Please log in to reply
85 replies to this topic

#1 Ketchenup

Ketchenup

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 205 posts
  • Interests:stone carving, koi keeping, culinary arts, homebrewing, beachcombing, and uh, oh yeah, sailing.

Posted 02 May 2013 - 09:33 PM

Sorry I'm not good at drawing, but let's just say a couple of boats had been overlapped on Port tack, but the leeward boat pulls ahead and throws a quick tack across the bow of the windward boat.  The tack is complete and sails drawing before the port tack boat gets within a half boatlength, which in the 5-8kts of wind is plenty of time for the port tack boat to duck astern, which they do.  No contact, but a protest, probably based on rule 13.  Could it still be a breach of 13 if the tacking boat didn't hit anybody, and the newly burdened vessel had room to avoid a collision based on the fact that they did so?  I know you probably want more info, but this is all I can offer.  Thanks for your input.

#2 Mastadon

Mastadon

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 223 posts

Posted 02 May 2013 - 09:38 PM

Thought that was called "racing".

#3 us7070

us7070

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,687 posts

Posted 02 May 2013 - 09:44 PM

it sounds from your description, that P did not begin to take avoiding action until the tack was complete.

so, if we stipulate that that is the case..., then yes, the  "performance" of P, in not hitting S, is pretty good evidence that S met her obligation under 13.

there may be other issues-  was P forced into an unseamanlike maneuver...? 1/2 boat length is close...

but as to your question - is performance ever evidence?, the answer is yes.

#4 Great Red Shark

Great Red Shark

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,620 posts

Posted 02 May 2013 - 09:52 PM