Jump to content


Need wiring diagram for Galvanic Isolator - Help?

guest galvanic isolator 2450P

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 mrgnstrn

mrgnstrn

    Anarchist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,365 posts
  • Location:Herring Bay, MD

Posted 06 May 2013 - 07:54 PM

Friends,

 

Google is not helping me find a wiring diagram for a Guest 2450P galvanic isolator.

I got it this weekend used but had no documents.

I'm sure I could figure it out after fucking with it a bunch, but would rather not take the risk that I don't get my ground wire set up correctly.

 

thanks.

 

M



#2 sailman

sailman

    Anarchist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,690 posts
  • Location:Portsmouth, RI

Posted 06 May 2013 - 08:02 PM

Something like this:

 

http://www.marinco.c...1_4531011_0.pdf



#3 mrgnstrn

mrgnstrn

    Anarchist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,365 posts
  • Location:Herring Bay, MD

Posted 06 May 2013 - 09:10 PM

 

Something like this:

 

http://www.marinco.c...1_4531011_0.pdf

 

Wrong model unfortunately....

 

mine has more places for more wires...

 

The "Guest"/"Marinco" website does not provide anything for this. :(



#4 sailman

sailman

    Anarchist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,690 posts
  • Location:Portsmouth, RI

Posted 07 May 2013 - 12:08 PM

Here you go



#5 Ryley

Ryley

    Anarchist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,017 posts
  • Location:Boston, MA
  • Interests:Sailing, Photography, Sailing, Mountain Biking.. did I mention sailing?

Posted 08 May 2013 - 01:20 PM

Interesting... I think that's the first time I've seen a GI that was DC powered.



#6 coopster

coopster

    Anarchist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 115 posts

Posted 14 May 2013 - 03:55 AM

It just goes inline on your AC safety ground (the green wire) as soon as it enters the boat. We mount them typically in the laz where the shore power first comes to your AC breaker. Pretty straight forward really. 



#7 Ryley

Ryley

    Anarchist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,017 posts
  • Location:Boston, MA
  • Interests:Sailing, Photography, Sailing, Mountain Biking.. did I mention sailing?

Posted 14 May 2013 - 11:24 AM

coopster, if you look at the linked diagram that sailman provided, this particular g.i. has a DC power connector that must predate most of the g.i's built in the last 10 years, as my experience has been like yours - stick it between the green wires and have at.



#8 mrgnstrn

mrgnstrn

    Anarchist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,365 posts
  • Location:Herring Bay, MD

Posted 15 May 2013 - 03:00 PM

so what i'm really trying to find out is what voltage is seen at the remote indicator LED's. (which this thing has terminals to hook up).

3V

5V

12V

?

 

-M



#9 NoStrings

NoStrings

    Anarchist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,880 posts
  • Location:Richmond, CA

Posted 16 May 2013 - 07:23 PM

I just crawled into my laz and put a meter on my remote terms....5v. Mine is a 2433P so it should be very close.

#10 mrgnstrn

mrgnstrn

    Anarchist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,365 posts
  • Location:Herring Bay, MD

Posted 17 May 2013 - 12:54 AM

I just crawled into my laz and put a meter on my remote terms....5v. Mine is a 2433P so it should be very close.


You, my friend, rock!
Thanks!
M.

#11 NoStrings

NoStrings

    Anarchist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,880 posts
  • Location:Richmond, CA

Posted 17 May 2013 - 04:38 AM

Anytime.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users