• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 artsimons

artsimons

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 18 June 2013 - 09:23 AM

Hi! I'm fairly new to sailing ang looking for some answers to help settle a little debate. In heavy winds when upwind vmg sailing, is it better to trim off the sail by letting it out to re-establish a reasonable heel and maintain course or to trim by leaving the sail in and loosing heel by pointing further upwind?

#2 RobG

RobG

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 719 posts

Posted 18 June 2013 - 10:32 AM

Crank on the vang and cunningham so you can keep the boat flat (skiff) or with optimal heal (dinghy). Sheet for best VMG (speed vs heading). 

#3 Ben G

Ben G

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 89 posts
  • Interests:12' skiffs

Posted 18 June 2013 - 10:38 AM

I would say maintain heading and ease sheet to keep flat- but that's for a skiff or boats that generate a fair amount of apparent wind. Not sure when it comes to say, a laser, which is slow but won't lose so much speed in turns- maybe the opposite? I've never sailed one.

#4 RATM

RATM

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 576 posts
  • Interests:My Grandchildren

Posted 18 June 2013 - 11:02 AM

Welcome to the biggest challenge in sailing and what makes it fun.

#5 BalticBandit

BalticBandit

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,728 posts

Posted 18 June 2013 - 11:18 AM

Really depends on

• The type of boat
  • The type of sea state
  • how far above the "design wind" (ie overpowered) you are
  • how steady the wind is (gust/lull pattern)
  • the rig dynamics of the boatt
  Most modern skiffs are planing hulls, which means that optimal VMG is planing, and that means sail it flat.  Most non-planing dinghies are designed to sail with a small amount of heel to increase righting moment (at a small price of slightly more leeway)