• Please log in to reply
77 replies to this topic

#1 Gouvernail

Gouvernail

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,761 posts
  • Interests:margaritas, hippie chicks, durable flying discs for retriever dog play

Posted 30 June 2013 - 09:04 PM

In 1990 the ILCA-NA was dead. The office had been pretty much abandoned and that was a result of pretty much nobody involved doing the things necessary to manage the association in any functional manner until there was nothing left to manage. The game really was about dead.

Allan Broadribb had run the class on its 1970s heyday and he saw an opportunity. He wrote up a contract that was totally incentive based whereby if he was able to create a decent sized organization, he could make a comfortable living managing the class.
I was a district officer back then and I shared the same position as everybody else who agreed to do this. Allan's contract pretty much gave him total control of all our nonexistent assets and the only way Allan could make a decent living would be to rebuild the Laser sailing game. We weren't giving away our control of anything because nothing was there to give away.

Allan had to build a class or starve.

Allan rebuilt the class. We had our game back and Allan and Jocelyn found a comfortable level of work and income and kept our game alive ( but slowly shrinking as their initial enthusiasm waned) for nine years.

1999>>>. The Broadribbs announced they had pretty much worn out their enthusiasm and there were some political difficulties that made it impossible for Allan to continue. ( basically, the new builder wasn't real happy with having a management system where the contractor really was not under any controls ... Even though the contractor was doing a workmanlike job at a low price) anyway, a large part of the Broadribb's compensation had always been appreciation by the sailors and builder and they weren't feeling that anymore.