#1 kevlar®

kevlar®

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,699 posts
  • Interests:Poor taste.

Posted 22 July 2013 - 05:18 PM

I think I've narrowed this down, but I'll post it anyway. 

Yanmar 3GM is sucking the primary & secondary fuel filters practically dry. I went though most of the system and ruled out air/bad hoses and changed filters. Even cleared the vent. (it wasn't clogged) The only thing I didn't do was take apart the lead from the tank. We ran out of time since we were in MD to bring the boat up to North NJ. 

This thing has a lot going on in the fuel system for a 35' C&C. Fuel polisher system, Algae-X conditioner magnet at the tank. 

The only thing I'm left with is a clog somewhere in the fuel supply line. If I prime & bleed it runs like a champ. (A tad rich, but no issue I think) All I'm left to do is go after the tank. I'm not new to these engines, but I'm no pro mechanic. 

The polisher system doesn't want to turn on either. Maybe that has something to do with it. I'm not very familiar with them, but it's pretty straightforward to me. The fuel supply line runs through a stopcock. 

Any other ideas minions?? 

@Rail Meat.. If I remember correctly, this is your old boat. 'Indigo'. Your PMbox is full apparently. 

Thanks.

-Kevin

#2 sailman

sailman

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,808 posts

Posted 22 July 2013 - 05:42 PM

Kevin,

Double check the line up for the polishing system and main fuel.  Make sure the polishing is isolated and that the supply and return are lined up correctly.  Does the filter have a priming pump, Racor type?  Does it prime easily after it is sucked dry by the engine?  Is the tank level higher than the filter?

#3 kevlar®

kevlar®

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,699 posts

Posted 22 July 2013 - 05:49 PM