2 replies to this topic

#1 rcko

rcko

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 August 2013 - 09:00 PM

Hi.

I'm a beginner / intermediate sailor, with only about 20 races of experience. I'm free for the next two weeks and would love to crew any Great Lakes area races during that period.

• Foredeck (and everything else) / Laser 28: Two PHRF races every week. Beer cans on Wednesday, then offshore each Sunday on Lake Superior. Also crewed for the Thunder Bay International Race, and got the boat going up to 13.5 knots VMG.
  • Mast Guy / C&C 44: Bayfield Race Week (Apostle Islands). Consistent 2nd place in class series.
  • Dinghys: Lasers, 420's, and Hobie 16 any day I'm not sailing larger boats.

I'd like to be in the Chicago area this weekend to crew on someone's boat. I've learned to focus on the "correct" instruction (typically the skipper's) if multiple crew members are vigorously "discussing" which course of action is best. I'll show up early (including to practice on Thursday or Friday if you want me there!), and do drudge work like scrubbing the deck without being asked. I can provide my own accomodations. 

• My stronger positions are anywhere on the deck, trimming the jib, grinding for anyone, and packing chutes.
  • I have the least experience trimming mainsail and spinnaker, and while I'm a fast learner, learning requires good instruction which people typically don't have time for during a race.

I'd love to practice on Thursday or Friday if that's an option.

#2 rcko

rcko

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 22 August 2013 - 10:00 PM

Stopped at the Monroe Harbor and Belmont Harbor today, but no one's at the docks. I'll hang around Belmont for a bit tomorrow but I'm assuming I won't be able to find a slot....would anyone like to just go cruising?

#3 rcko

rcko

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 01 September 2013 - 05:33 AM