• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 Bleys

Bleys

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 09 September 2013 - 11:24 PM

Alright, I'm very new here, so howdy all. I am trying to decide on a small boat I can sail single handed, and I need some advice on which boats I should look at.

I want a boat I can take out to Lake Conroe or Clear Lake on a regular basis and mostly just have fun

Now, on to the part that matters. I have some previous experience, my parents had a Catalina 25 when I was younger and that got the 'big boat' out of my blood. In college I have sailed 420s off and on again. I enjoy the 420 in general but with my 250 lbs she can feel a bit sluggish with another person crewing.

The question: should I buy a 420 and figure out a solo rig or is there another boat better suited to my size that you folks would suggest?

I do plan on trying out as many different boats as I can before any $$ leaves my pocket. I just want to know what I should be looking for.

#2 sailwriter

sailwriter

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 486 posts

Posted 10 September 2013 - 01:38 AM

Perhaps get ahold of the guys and gals on the Texas Centerboard Circuit.

(See the thread on this forum.)

There is a variety of boats among them.

Nearly all of them are faster and more fun than a 420,

A Raider would easily take your weight and would even take a crew, if you wanted.

Happy hunting.

OPB = Other People's Boats for a while.

Dave Ellis

#3 BalticBandit

BalticBandit

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,728 posts

Posted 10 September 2013 - 08:21 AM

If the 420 seems sluggish to you (and i should at that weight)  you might consider a bunch of other options. 

29er rigged for singlehanding - you have the weight for it

Musto Skiff - 250 will rapidly become 215 if you go this route, its a physical but exciting boat.

RS 700 - very much like the Musto.