7 replies to this topic

#1 slower

slower

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 27 October 2013 - 08:25 PM

First time poster, stupid question, right? But first, tits:

I have recently grown to like sailing quite a lot. I am a freelancer, can work anywhere as long as there's an Internet connection available. I'm in Europe now and am a member of a local yacht club that has very active weekly races, a lot of active one design racing nearby and our club has several match racing boats. There is a separate fleet+match racing program for adults (coached fleet race training once a week, match race once a week + practice races). I would like to participate in something like this from November at least until March or April..

When it comes to places with an active racing scene there's a lot of options, BUT is there a place with a coached training program? I can't afford "private" coaching. I'm not a super pro sailor but just want to sail a lot (3+ times a week) and would like to do so in a "more organized" way than just attending weekly beer can races. I don't want to buy a boat but I'd still like to be able to skipper a bit. The costs have to be reasonable. Am I expecting too much? There are match race centers in Europe and in USA, but I can't find anything like this in NZ, Australia, Caribbean, South America, Gran Canary... I am too old (30) for the "youth programs" that some sailing clubs offer.

Of course I'd also like to find a nice place to live at and some other factors count also, but for now lets just concentrate on solving the sailing part of the equation.. any hints?

#2 BalticBandit

BalticBandit

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,728 posts

Posted 27 October 2013 - 09:42 PM

Where are you based?

#3 jerryj2me

jerryj2me

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,502 posts

Posted 28 October 2013 - 06:19 PM