#1 High Flow

High Flow

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 624 posts

Posted 03 November 2013 - 08:31 PM

Hi Folks

I'm gonna do a deck job on my '72 Bianchi e Cecchi FD. 

The deck was completely redone in 2008 and I haven't touched it since. 

In general it still looks quite good, but when locking closer the varnish has cracked on certain spots. 

I organized a workshop this winter so I have all the facilities I need. 

I have never done a whole varnish removal before so what can you advice me to do?

Sand down to the wood? Etching?

What new varnish to use? 

What layup?

Epoxi?

The guys who redid the deck advised me to use this: Nautilus Polyurethan Enamel 2 Component (it's an Italian thing).

It's a beautiful boat and I want her to stay just that way. 

I'll do some optimization of the fittings as well but nothing big. 

The boat leaks quite a lot so I'll try and fix that as well.

Here some pictures of the "problem zones"

Attached File  IMG_7977.JPG   119.8K   12 downloads

Attached File  IMG_7978.JPG   133.69K   9 downloads

Attached File  IMG_7979.JPG   114.23K   6 downloads

Attached File  IMG_7980.JPG   98.67K   6 downloads

Attached File  IMG_7981.JPG   141.8K   6 downloads

#2 High Flow

High Flow

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 624 posts

Posted 03 November 2013 - 08:35 PM

Attached File  IMG_7982.JPG   124.53K   6 downloads

Attached File  IMG_7983.JPG   119.94K   4 downloads

Attached File  IMG_7985.JPG   93.51K   2 downloads

Attached File  IMG_7988.JPG   81.47K   3 downloads

Attached File  IMG_7989.JPG   76.55K   2 downloads

Attached File  IMG_7991.JPG   91.07K   2 downloads

#3 High Flow

High Flow

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 624 posts

Posted 03 November 2013 - 08:38 PM

What do you recon?

Do I really need to get it all off?

I'm not trying to minimize effort. I want to do the best and sustainable effort!

Thanks for your inputs.

max

#4 fdsailor

fdsailor

Anarchist

• Members