11 replies to this topic

#1 sailman

sailman

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,687 posts

Posted 14 January 2014 - 03:24 PM

How do you tie in solar charging into the existing charging system?  Currently I have a mastervolt battery charger, engine alternator. The batteries (house, starter and windlass) are tied together with a xantrex battery monitor to regulate which battery gets priority and then topping off all batteries evenly. 

I want to increase my house bank capacity and add solar charging.  My concern is the tie in?  Do I have to have the solar regulator on a separate switch so that it can not be active if on of the two other chargers (shore power or alternator) is active?  Would a different battery monitor handle this?

#2 jacrider

jacrider

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 138 posts

Posted 15 January 2014 - 01:02 AM

I can try to explain ...

All charging sources can go to the batteries directly.  All your sources (alternator, shore-power and solar) will have regulators or smart-charge logic to ensure you don't cook your batteries.  I think from your description, you have an "Echo-Charge" or similar, which will allow your house batteries to trickle charge to your starter battery when a charge voltage is seen in your house bank.  I leave my boat plugged in when I leave, but the solar panels are also charging.  I have had no issues with this set-up.

As for your battery monitor, most I have seen have a shunt on the negative battery terminal that measures current.  As long as you maintain your connections so that your charge source has the negative connection on this shunt, you will be able to see the charge activity from your solar panels.

Hope this helps.

#3 sailman

sailman

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,687 posts

Posted 15 January 2014 - 05:18 PM

Thanks for the reply.  That makes sense.  So your solar charger is run right to the batteries with the negative connection on the shunt?