18 replies to this topic

#1 eclipsemullet

eclipsemullet

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 63 posts
  • Interests:Sailing

Posted 04 July 2014 - 06:43 PM

I'm no Exp expert but it looks to me that our Pol Bsp% is being exceeded by too much.

Anyone got an idea of what inputs I should check? I've done my best to centre the speed transducer and realigned the wind vane.

#2 DickDastardly

DickDastardly

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,640 posts

Posted 05 July 2014 - 12:09 AM

I'm no Exp expert but it looks to me that our Pol Bsp% is being exceeded by too much.

Anyone got an idea of what inputs I should check? I've done my best to centre the speed transducer and realigned the wind vane.

First: Calibrate everything.  

Second: Check that the polars are correct - where did you get them - are they designer polars or based on experience?  If the latter they may have ongoing log errors built in.  Are they flat or rough water polars?  Are they up to date?  

If the same problem exists upwind, downwind and reaching its possibly a calibration problem or the polars are universally wrong.  If the problem only exists at some angles the polars may be wrong in certain areas.

#3 eclipsemullet

eclipsemullet

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 63 posts

Posted 05 July 2014 - 09:06 AM

They are polars I got direct from Farr a couple of years ago.

I think the problem was manifesting on port tack before, so I turned the speed transducer a few degrees in its housing. Surely the speedo can't be that sensitive to alignment?!!

#4 Moonduster

Moonduster

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,371 posts

Posted 05 July 2014 - 12:41 PM

Don't be so certain ...

#5 henry the navigator

henry the navigator

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 339 posts

Posted 06 July 2014 - 01:21 PM

Eclipsemullet,

Boat speed is a building block vector, it is fundamental to the problem your are trying to solve.