Mooring on south side of east end of St. John USVI (Coral Bay)

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 stumbler

stumbler

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 574 posts

Posted 31 July 2014 - 05:37 PM

Has anyone here ever been by boat over to the east end of St. John and stayed in or around Coral Bay? My whole family is thinking about renting a house in that area around Xmas, but our boat will be there (45' sloop, draws 6.5') as well and we would need a mooring or very quiet/safe anchorage where she could sit unattended for a few days at a time. Ideas? 

#2 kingstonsail

kingstonsail

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 154 posts
  • Interests:Sailing on Bacon

Posted 31 July 2014 - 06:31 PM

I've anchored in Coral Bay overnight (on a late December night so busy tourist time).  It is a shallow, sandy anchorage.  I have no knowledge of moorings but it has a well populated mooring field in the Harbour area.  We were maybe off Pen Point and it was a very quiet achorage even given the time of year.  I would have had no problem leaving the boat alone for a day or two on a mooring.  The Skinny Legs bar was the highlight of our short stay.

Attached File  coral.PNG   231.39K   23 downloads

#3 TQA

TQA

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 460 posts
  • Interests:Caribbean cruising as long as I can

Posted 02 August 2014 - 01:49 AM

Basically anchoring is discouraged/forbidden around St Johns EXCEPT if no moorings are available. The designated anchorages are really not suitable for leaving a boat unattended.

The authorities say to contact the National Park administration, Tel. (340)776-6201 for St. John info.

#4 kingstonsail

kingstonsail

Anarchist

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 154 posts

Posted 02 August 2014 - 03:52 AM