ok, heres the background to the rules questions I have below.
Race instructions /Nor says Jam and Spinnaker class. I sign up in SPI .. 5 minutes before the race RC/CBboat ask me if I want to race jam as I am the only SPI boat and 4 Jam boats. Well I think I make his life easier and say yes. No extra start, different course and its a obviously a low pressure deal anyhow...
Now 2 weeks later he basically calls me a cheat as I was using my Jib and my regular genua ( I have two forstays ) and when I switch from one sail to the other, I let genua out and than furl jib in and vica versa... Now the RC is calling me a cheat using two for sails. Of course he didn't change my Phrf from SPI to JAM either. My fiancée and I are the ones sailing my boat and we take it easy anyhow and place 4 ( out of 5 ) lol
2 weeks later .. bigger event .. I sign up on SPi .. he tells me that if nobody else comes up I have to sail JAM but I better not cheat again . NOR/SI have SPI class in it .. The discussion almost ends up in a fight and I told him I will not race under those aquisations...
Question 1 : forget the fact that I was racing with SPI rating, and never used my SPI or Code 0 , just the permanent jib and genua ... can I use both sails at the same time ? Its a Trimaran with two forestays.
Question 2 : despite that the nor/Si call for spi class, can he cancel the class if only I show up and not more SPI entrants ?
Question 3 : My Genua is permantley fixed to my bowsprit my jib is about 3 feet behind on the bow ( Jib is about 110 % )
J length is measured to the staysail. cutter rigged first stay for the JIB and Mast to forward stay for the Genua . One of his allegations are that my genua is bigger than 155 % which might actually be true if I measure J length ONLY to the fist forstay. Keep in mind that the second furthest away forstay basically holds up my mast ( both are fractional )