Jump to content


Foredeck Shuffle

Member Since 09 Sep 2004
Offline Last Active Aug 28 2014 01:18 PM
****-

Posts I've Made

In Topic: Lasers - Applying a Blow Torch

20 August 2014 - 05:20 PM

What are the active development classes in the US?

Mostly the 505's, there is a scattering of I-14's, IC's, and Moths around the country.

 

You could call the Beachcat 16/18/20's & ACat's dev classes.

 

I'm sure I'm missing a few, but I can't think of them.


In Topic: Lasers - Applying a Blow Torch

19 August 2014 - 08:22 PM

I'm sure you meant it, though I don't think you understand it, DGM is rule 69.

Perhaps you would like to read this.

Since I dressed it up with brand new Torch logo making it impossible to miss the difference from a Laser class sail, even at a distance, this wouldn't apply.  The rule implicitly stipulates some kind of subterfuge to get away with something, which obviously I did not since I stated it as non-class, and marked the sail prominently as non-class.

 

Hard to miss and hardly a case of misrepresentation.

 


In Topic: LR in AC35

07 August 2014 - 07:06 PM

Disappointed by the thread title, I was expecting Lesbian Robot to be on here.


Ditto. Twas the only reason I wandered into what is the back isle separated by a bead curtain section of SA. Just as frightening. Bunch of dudes masterbating about the AC.

In Topic: Lasers - Applying a Blow Torch

06 August 2014 - 07:49 PM

Went to the www.laserinternational.org/contact/worldcouncil to confirm the he's still listed but the Laser website seems to be down at the moment...

I'll go buy a sail so they can put it back up.  Sorry for the inconveniense all.


In Topic: Lasers - Applying a Blow Torch

06 August 2014 - 06:18 PM


I did, immediately after the last race of the day.  Just checked, posted it when I wrote it above.

I will stop doing that after the next group purchase of sails.  I'm waiting until then so that there are more people available for the purchase and guarantees that everyone gets the discount.
 


> I saved the class sail for another day

Why did RRS 78.1 not apply to the event, or if it did apply, why did you not RAF for breaking It?


Foredeck Shuffle, you show a double standarts here. Why should some poor kid try to stick to the Class rules and 'sail down' his only legal sail while some smart ass shows up at the regatta with replica sails only to save his legal sails for some 'big event'? From the Rules perspective, your actions by deliberately breaking the Class rules in Class sanctioned event puts you into Rule 2 and even Rule 69 territory, not 78.1. You're not a hero by RAFing from the races, you're a cheat! You should have been DGM-ed! Shame on you!

I'm sure you meant it, though I don't think you understand it, DGM is rule 69.

 

Did I gain in a race or event?  Scoring, no, but I'm positive the boat sailed better.  Did I cause someone to have a worse score?  No.  Was this just a local club event that no one travelled to?  Yes.  Did I end up with the worst score on the board?  Yes.  Did anyone really care in the event?  No.  Harm done?  None since I started and sailed conservatively and kept away from other boats.