Jump to content


eastcoastdude

Member Since 14 Jan 2005
Offline Last Active Jul 08 2014 04:17 PM
*----

Posts I've Made

In Topic: Definitive Foil Control Article

01 December 2013 - 04:44 PM

David Hollom was a GB designer for 12 metres back in the 80s and 90s working with British and Swedish AC syndicates.  His background is in model boats, and he has tried a lot of things....

 

In 1983 he was key to Australia II being able to defend its winged keel protest, as the UK team had already got his winged keel design cleared by the measurers.  The British, however, did not have the balls to build the boat!

 

He designed a very odd looking 12m for Fremantle 88 which was not used but performed very well at the 12m worlds which followed the AC.  It was then lost from a container ship returning from those Worlds.  The 12m was no longer the AC class and the UK gave up for a few years.  He was marginalised by nationality rules but had consultancy work for the Swedes.

 

Latterly David has designed some fast International 14s and National 12s in the UK.  

 

A rather interesting man, and particularly unconventional.  Arguably what you need in a competition like the AC.


In Topic: ENTZ vs OR - AC Race 1 & 2

08 September 2013 - 07:13 AM

 

 

Did OR sail the first race one man down, or did they get the MOB back on board?

47.2 A yacht shall not permit any person on board to intentionally leave unless ill or injured.
Except as a result of a capsize, a person leaving shall not be accepted back on board nor
replaced during the race.

 

 
But 47.2 does not apply to gooning around before the race starts for the day.  The guy went over board pre-start, not during THE "pre-start".

 

Which is the preparatory at 2 mins in this case. OK.

I believe so.


In Topic: ENTZ vs OR - AC Race 1 & 2

08 September 2013 - 06:19 AM

Did OR sail the first race one man down, or did they get the MOB back on board?

47.2 A yacht shall not permit any person on board to intentionally leave unless ill or injured.
Except as a result of a capsize, a person leaving shall not be accepted back on board nor
replaced during the race.

 

But 47.2 does not apply to gooning around before the race starts for the day.  The guy went over board pre-start, not during THE "pre-start".  


In Topic: Rules Question

01 September 2013 - 11:20 AM

I think the point of the finishing definition is to allow for situations when a boat crosses the finish line from the course side but has not yet sailed around all the buoys.  For example the boat could be a lap behind the leader.  This caveat to the definition is required or by being lapped she will be unable to complete the course.  

 

Without the definition as it is boats which are lapped and who cannot avoid sailing through the finish line - imagine sailing on a river and both ends of the line are on the shore - will be found to be DNF by virtue of having "finished" but not sailed the course set.