Jump to content

phrfsux

Members
  • Content Count

    90
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

1 Neutral

About phrfsux

  • Rank
    Member

Profile Information

  • Location
    City Island, NY

Recent Profile Visitors

3,056 profile views
  1. Hmmm. Since we were approaching at 90 degrees to each other, it's hard to tell who reached the zone first. I'm a J/24. The other boat was a 34 footer. If I had to guess, I'd suspect she got to within 3 of her boatlengths before I got to within 3 of my boatlengths, but that's just a guess.
  2. This really happened in today's race. The SI (for reasons that made sense to nobody but the RC) specified a starboard rounding. WTF? Unfortunately, one boat didn't read the SI carefully enough and thought they were doing a port rounding. As far as I can tell, rule 18 applies; both boats are required to leave the mark on the same side (regardless of the fact that one of them doesn't know that) and they're both in the zone. None of the exceptions in 18.1(a)-(d) apply. They're clearly overlapped, so 18.2 applies, but beats me which boat is inside or outside. The next mark was upwind, so pr
×
×
  • Create New...