Jump to content

TJSoCal

Members
  • Content Count

    921
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by TJSoCal

  1. Yeah, if your objective is to keep boats out of the start/finish area then making a violator unwind just makes it worse
  2. Suggested wording from Dick Rose: After completing the first leg of the course, a boat shall not cross the starting line. A boat shall not cross the finishing line until she is completing the last leg of the course and finishes. A boat that breaks this rule shall not correct her error. However, she will be exonerated if she takes a Two-Turns Penalty (see rule 44.2). This changes rule 28.1. On a leg of the course from W to L or from L to W, boats may leave the line between S and F either to port or to starboard. For reasons of safety, on legs of the course from W to L or from L to W,
  3. Additionally, just making the line an obstruction doesn't prohibit boats from crossing it. You'd want language that restricts the line as well as defining it as an obstruction so boats approaching it are entitled to room to avoid it. And an alternative penalty less than DSQ wouldn't hurt.
  4. Did your SI specifically allow the RC to DSQ a boat breaking it without a hearing? If not, unless there was a valid protest & hearing I think the boat would have to be scored in her finishing place.
  5. That's easy - it's hard to sell $1800 watches if your $400 watches do the same thing.
  6. If you're looking at the watch option, something like a Garmin fenix 5 or 6 with the RaceQs smart watch app will give you much better racing functionality that what's shown in the Garmin app. So you could have a watch and a Prostart for a lot less than the cost of the MARQ Captain.
  7. True in general, but if one side of the valve in the OP picture is open with the handle pointing down and the handle only rotates CCW I think my diagram is the only way it can work.
  8. If I visualize an L-shaped port inside and the bottom is always open, then logically handle down (as shown in the picture) would be open to the left and rotating the handle 90* CCW would be open to the right. If it will rotate 180* then handle up would be all closed.
  9. I think it's a more common move in team racing than fleet racing. Changes to the rule for 2021 were specifically aimed at a team racing scenario where starboard might bear off below 90 degrees to the wind. Note that 16.2 is deleted in match racing so the dial-down is allowed.
  10. Agreed, the fact that OP could do this doesn't mean he should.
  11. If you think there was misconduct you yourself can make a Rule 69 report and I don't believe there's a time limit. But expect to be asked for evidence that the GBR actions were deliberate and collusive, not just errors.
  12. I would lean towards: At position 4, Green was ROW leeward and entitled to mark-room by 18.3(b) Red had room to keep clear and give mark-room by maneuvering promptly and in a seamanlike manner between 4 and 5. She did not. Green did not break 16.1. (once Green's inside overlap was established it shouldn't have been a surprise that she would luff up to make the mark). Red broke rule 11 and rule 18.3 Green and Red broke 14. If there is no injury or damage Green (ROW and sailing within the mark-room she's entitled to) is exonerated by 43.1(c)
  13. I would say yes, as long as port doesn't immediately have to change course to keep clear. But I think if I were on starboard I'd be leery of bearing away once port looked like she was committed to ducking - it seems like asking for trouble.
  14. 16.1 still prohibits starboard from "hunting up" in a close cross if it prevents port from keeping clear. But it only applies if port is so committed to the cross that she can no longer keep clear by tacking or ducking. So really only in the last few boat-lengths of a crossing situation. As long as port still has room to keep clear by tacking or ducking starboard is free to come up and close the door on a cross.
  15. Well, in this instance Blue's entitlement to mark-room includes room for Blue to tack when she can fetch the mark. So the question is whether, when Blue bore away, Yellow was also obligated to bear away so that Blue still had room to tack. Note that the facts presented do not include a change in wind direction but only a change in pressure. I think the question boils down to whether Blue had to bear away to continue to sail to the mark, or if it was a choice by Blue to try to maintain speed in a lull when she could have maintained her course (albeit slower). If the characteristics of
  16. That's true - rule 13 specifically turns off 10, 11 and 12 until the tacking boat is on a close-hauled course (but sails not necessarily trimmed close-hauled)
  17. Yes, but "tacking" (as in rule 13) is different from "on a tack". By the definition of "Tack, Starboard or Port", a boat is on the new tack as soon as she passes HTW and her windward side changes, even though she's still in the process of tacking and subject to rule 13. Even if a boat is luffing she's still on a tack, either starboard or port according to her windward side. I think there's a case (or might be a match racing call) that says that if a boat's windward side can't be determined (for example, she's holding HTW) then last point of certainty applies and she's on the tack that she
  18. Scenario is a starboard rounding so both boats are going for the port tack layline. 18(b) and (c) are turned off by 18.2(d) when W passes HTW, but 18 is turned off entirely by 18.1 when the boats are on opposite tacks on a beat to windward (and W is on port tack as soon as she passes HTW). But it turns back on again when both boats are back on the same tack, with a new entitlement to mark-room for the boat that's either inside overlapped or clear ahead.
  19. I'm not sure I'd say that L was "compelled" to break a rule. She could, for example, have eased sheets, slowed down and given W room to tack. But I think she is exonerated for the contact by 43.1(c) since she was ROW boat.
  20. I'm not sure about the "when mark room has been given" aspect, that's very confusing to me. If you're too literal about it it would seem like 18 is constantly turning on and off depending on whether the outside boat is giving room or not. I think it's more intended to convey that once the boat entitled to mark-room has rounded her entitlement to mark-room ends. In this situation I think W is entitled to room to tack, but as you note as soon as she passes HTW in the zone rule 18 turns off (boats are on opposite tacks on a beat to windward). It turns back on when L tacks and they're both on
  21. The definition tells you what mark-room is, but it's rule 18 that tells you whether it's on or not. If the conditions of 18.1 are met, the rule applies and 18.2 describes the obligations of the boat owing mark-room.
  22. Hmm - same fitting on both ends so that would imply some kind of end-for-end system, maybe? But on the other hand the end with the lines on it looks a lot more beat up than the other end...
  23. I think Casartelli's death in the 1995 Tour may have revived the issue but believe it was Andrey Kivilev in Paris-Nice in 2003 that tipped the scales. UCI made helmets mandatory in 2003.
×
×
  • Create New...