Jump to content

TJSoCal

Members
  • Content Count

    924
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by TJSoCal

  1. From the time A passes head to wind until he comes to a close-hauled course, B is ROW (rule 13). If A doesn't get to a close-hauled tack on starboard, A curtailing/reversing his tack met A's obligation to keep clear of B. I think this is OP's assertion. If/when A gets to a close-hauled course his tack is complete and he gains ROW (rule 10). He must initially give B room to keep clear so it's possible that A's luff met that obligation and neither boat broke a rule. If A gets to a close-hauled course and B did have room to keep clear (by luffing or tacking, for example), then A's alter
  2. If A tacks back onto port to leeward of B, yes. If, as seems likely, B winds up clear ahead after A's two tacks, B has ROW. OP didn't say, but it sounds like after A luffed/slowed to avoid contact, he fell back to starboard close-hauled and then tacked to the mark clear astern of B. Guessing it looked something like this, with the critical question being whether Yellow (A) got to a close-hauled course at position 2 before luffing to avoid Blue (B).
  3. I don't think you can do it based on "state of mind." Maybe if you can testify to something like "we had to tack instantly and unexpectedly, the jib backed because there was no time for anyone to release the sheet" would make it a crash tack.
  4. Not quite. 18.2(b) applies if the boats are overlapped when the first of them reaches the zone, and by definition boats on opposite tacks are not overlapped. In your example 18.2(b) was on when A entered the zone on port clear ahead, but all of 18 switched off and 10 switched on when A tacked from port to starboard in the zone. When A tacked back to port (assuming a completed tack and no rule 15 violation), if there's an overlap then rule 11 and 18.2(a) switch on - whichever of you is leeward boat has ROW and inside boat (presumably also leeward) is owed mark room by outside boat.
  5. Per Case 103, "the phrase ‘seamanlike way’ in the definition Room refers to boat-handling that can reasonably be expected from a competent, but not expert, crew of the appropriate number for the boat." How would you differentiate between an "immediate" tack (seamanlike) and a "crash" (unseamanlike) tack?
  6. If neither boat had to alter course to avoid contact after A's tack, then I don't think either boat broke a rule. B kept clear and A gave her room to do so (or, if A didn't complete her tack, A kept clear and B gave her room). Assuming that validity requirements were met the PC would still have to hear the protest, but would likely conclude that no boat broke a rule so no boat is penalized.
  7. Absent strong witnesses for B, I'm not sure how he convinces a PC that A hadn't come to a close-hauled course when A claims he had. If I were B in this situation I'd strongly consider doing penalty turns.
  8. If the overtaking boat is overlapped to leeward, she has ROW. If she established the overlap from astern within two hull lengths to leeward (the typical "overtaking" scenario), she still has ROW but is restricted by rule 17 from sailing above her proper course (so she has limited luffing rights, but windward boat must still keep clear). So in general when you tell people about this don't focus on relative motion but on relative position.
  9. "Overtaking" makes no difference in RRS so it doesn't matter who's faster or slower. Overlapped, clear ahead or clear astern does. Even rule 17, which sort of deals with an overtaking situation, avoids the term "overtaking". This is a significant difference from COLREGS that seems to trip a lot of people.
  10. I think there are three critical questions the PC would need to resolve. Both boats would need to consider what evidence they'd present to make their cases. 1. Did A reach her close-hauled course on starboard? (If yes, rule 10 applies, if not then rule 13) 2. If yes, after A reached her close-hauled course did B initially have room to avoid her by maneuvering promptly in a seamanlike way, which could include a quick tack? (rule 15) 3. If A completed her tack and initially gave room for B to avoid contact (so it's a straight rule 10), did A have a reasonable apprehension of conta
  11. Both. We tried spinning the paddlewheel at the dock and got nothing, but we had the boat out to do calibration runs (which require you to come up to cruising speed for a little bit, then stop the boat and punch the calibration button). Never got any numbers to show for boatspeed from the sensor.
  12. We're trying to connect a GST 43 paddlewheel speed transducer. Network has a GPSMap 742 plotter, a couple of GMI 20 displays, a couple of GNX 20 displays and a GNX Wind display. We hooked up the GST 43 through a GST 10 adapter to the NMEA 2000 network. The network seems to recognize the device as it asks for a speed sensor calibration on boot up. We did the calibration but got "---" for boatspeed on the displays indicating no speed data coming from the transducer (not 00.0 kt as we'd expect if it was just a stuck paddlewheel). Anybody have any advice? Is there a setting we're missing
  13. Funny I was talking to a guy the other day who was talking about how they established a fleet of Olson 30s on Kauai. Basically they would find Transpac finishers and offer to buy the boats for cheap - better option than shipping or sailing them back to California...
  14. If you race and have a Garmin watch definitely check out the RaceQs watch app. It's awesome.
  15. If this is club-sponsored & the club provides training, wouldn't the club incur a share of liability?
  16. Agree with all of that, and I agree that SS's hail was OK, given the circumstances. But if it were me I'd also be sure to note the sail numbers of a boat or two that were ahead of me and not called over early, and hail a couple of nearby boats who knew I wasn't over early to ask if they'd serve as witnesses.
  17. Ah, OK. Not meaning to quibble (and understanding that in the heat of the moment we don't always use the correct words) but I think all you really needed to do was call that you were well behind the line (with other boats ahead and not called?) and didn't believe there was any way you were OCS. That might have been enough to either convince the RC not to score you as OCS in the first place, or that call plus witnesses should have been plenty to support your redress request.
  18. Yeah, true. "Protesting the race committee" is a pet peeve... It doesn't sound like the VHF call necessarily made a difference in this case. I assume if the call hadn't been made (but the individual recall signal had) and you later saw your results as OCS you'd still have requested and probably been given redress, no? Out of curiosity, granting that you were well behind the line, what was the basis of the RC calling you over in the first place? Did they just miscall a sail number, or what?
  19. So, was the race committee disqualified? Surely you mean you were granted redress.
  20. I gave up on Gill gloves a few years ago, the suede material they use tends to spiderweb very quickly. I like the Harken Spectrum gloves a lot, I can get a couple of seasons out of them before the palms or finger pads wear through.
  21. The boat was OCS (but didn't know it). If the RC had promptly made the signal the boat could have returned and started properly, and would have been awarded her finishing place which would probably have been worse than the first place she sailed to but, based on her performance in other races that day, probably better than last. But she was OCS so the RC didn't err in scoring her as such. The error was the RC failing to promptly make the signal. This denied the boat the opportunity to promptly restart and made her score worse than it might have been otherwise. Even if the boat had seen t
  22. According to the decision the competitor was not aware that he was OCS. He looked for signals from the pin and start boats for a few seconds after the starting signal, which seems like normal due diligence - he probably never looked back after that. Also sounds like the boat was originally scored OCS by the race committee and score was changed by a decision of the protest committee. It doesn't sound like he was ever scored in his finishing place. So what do you feel is the scoring error?
  23. Well if you look at the regatta results that boat had 126 points for 10 races (before throwing out a 26) so average points for the entire regatta would give about the same result and an extra point or 3 wouldn't have reordered the standings. Average points for races 1-5 would have been worse.
  24. Too harsh or too lenient? Impossible to say where the boat might have finished if the signal had been made promptly and the boat had returned. Probably not first, probably not last. Something worse than average points seems like a reasonable decision to me.
  25. BTW the decision is posted, see link below. 13 second delay and the competitor finished first but was scored 12th, equal to her worst other finish on that day (not average points). http://sailingresults.net/sa/protest/Protest.aspx?ID=80280&PID=658&PN=02
×
×
  • Create New...