Jump to content

TJSoCal

Members
  • Content Count

    1,051
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by TJSoCal

  1. Are you looking at using the generator to propel the boat (via an electric motor), or to charge the batteries that drive the electric motor? Might be you need less generating capacity than you think if you're just running the battery charger. In any case it might be a good idea to talk to the folks at Electric Yacht, they have some pretty good electric propulsion solutions that might work for you and are pretty responsive in providing advice for specific installations. They can probably recommend a motor solution and also advise on what sort of generating capacity you'd need for continuou
  2. EasyGPS is a good free program for PC that will let you create GPX files with waypoints & routes if needed.
  3. Well maybe. But suppose Fat Boy comes to arbitration or a protest hearing and says that she’s sure she was clear ahead at the zone. She didn’t hail because she doesn’t make non-required hails. She came up at the mark because she was ROW and entitled to mark-room. She didn’t do turns because she was exonerated (wasn’t aware of the damage) and OP should be DSQ for sailing into mark-room she wasn’t entitled to. In this case it didn’t go that way, but it could have. Even with the video we have, clearly the previous discussion indicates that there could be reasonable doubt whether an overlap w
  4. I think part of the issue here might be that in a situation like this it may take a few minutes for a boat to look back, review what they remember of the incident and decide whether they think they may have broken a rule or not. Was Fat Boy sure she wasn't entitled to mark room? How sure? Keeping in mind that we all got to watch the incident on video several times and it still took some debate to sort it out, Fat Boy had to make the call in real time while continuing to sail. If you take more than a minute or so to sort that out in your mind mind you've forfeited your right to a tur
  5. In those days the guys in CIC were doing about the same thing the QMs were doing, except with radar ranges manually obtained from a CRT radar repeater instead of visual bearings. Ranges were logged on paper and relayed verbally to a plotter who manually plotted the three ranges on a paper chart. Then CIC's radar fix would be relayed up to the navigator on the bridge Navigator would usually report his visual fix (how far left or right of track, distance & time to turn, nearest shoal water, nearest NAVAID) and append "CIC concurs" as long as the two fixes were reasonably close. In rest
  6. So what was the upshot of this incident? Did Fat Boy do turns? Was there a hearing? Decision?
  7. And in this incident there was damage, a broken brush shaft. Would have to ask the helmsman (or his significant other) if anything rose to the level of injury.
  8. But before you got to the mark you gybed onto port (at about 0:41). So 10 was off and 11 determined ROW with Fat Boys (he was then leeward), but your entitlement to mark-room under 18.2(b) remained.
  9. OP also lost starboard when he gybed and became windward keep clear on the outside boat - but (assuming an overlap at the zone) still entitled to mark-room. I agree non-required hails (if done professionally) are helpful, both to let the other fellow know what your assessment of the situation is and as a useful "marker" if you do wind up in the room.
  10. I think that was maybe a function of camera distortion. I thought I heard the bow guy say "overlap" shortly before the skipper hailed. And given the time elapsed from the hail to the mark it's pretty clear the overlap was established outside the zone.
  11. Old versions (hard copy) of Elvstrom aren't hard to find online and usually aren't too expensive. Sometimes they still have the plastic boats, sometimes not.
  12. S is obligated to give P room to keep clear, not room to cross. If P is able to tack and keep clear despite S's course change, then I'd say S complied with 16.1 and properly used the rules to avoid losing a place to P. 16.1 has been the same since 1997 and in principle I think the rules were the same before that.
  13. You can alter course to close the door as long as P still has room to keep clear (that is, still has an option to tack or duck). Once P gets to the point where she can't do either, you can't come up any more and have to hold course and let her cross. You have to hold course even if there's a right shift and you're no longer close-hauled. But if you (S) bear away in a close cross with a reasonable apprehension of contact there's a very good chance that you'll win your protest (World Sailing Case 50)
  14. On the flip side, maintaining a full collection of paper charts for a naval vessel is expensive and keeping them up to date requires a lot of hand-inscribed corrections. That's a lot of effort. I'm sure that's part of why the RN is convincing themselves that paper charts aren't necessary.
  15. But same principle applies - if you get the time exactly right but your sextant reading is off, you'll still have error in your fix.
  16. I dunno - they talk in the article about "pilotage" rules (visual identification of landmarks or navigation buoys while close to shore)"
  17. One - famous last words, especially on a warship. Two - c'mon, man, it's a skill but it's not that hard. Unless you never practice. Regarding accuracy, they seem to be very concerned with correcting for a couple of seconds of time difference but one wonders what they're using to shoot bearings and how accurate that is. In my day it was a quartermaster third with a telescopic alidade on a gyro repeater and that was usually good enough for government work.
  18. I expect most cases of skipping a mark or rounding the wrong way are errors, not cheating. See also: Hanlon's Razor Touching a mark and failing to do a turn, on the other hand...
  19. I've got some books going back as far as 1912 and they all talk about room at marks and obstructions. I think "buoy room" might just be sailor slang.
  20. If a boat wants to make a "serious accusation" why not put it on a protest form? Note that in the other instances (did not start & did not finish) where the RC is permitted to disqualify without a hearing, the RC is normally in a position to personally observe the breach. This may or may not be true of a mark rounding error which may take place out of sight of the RC. If the RC is going to disqualify a boat without a hearing, seems like they would want more than just the accusation of another competitor. Personally if I hadn't observed the error I'd want, at a minimum, reports
  21. Suppose the boat hails protest and displays a flag shortly after the incorrect mark rounding. Is that proper, given that the breach doesn't occur until the other boat finishes?
  22. Slight drift - if S observes P sailing to the incorrect side and wants to protest P for breaking rule 28.1, when could/should/must she inform the protestee?
  23. COLREGS are replaced by RRS between boats racing, so there's no COLREGS component to this situation. Who was wrong would depend entirely on RRS right-of-way and room rules.
  24. There's also Case 63: At a mark, when space is made available to a boat that is not entitled to it, she may, at her own risk, take advantage of the space. So if S can sail close to the mark without interfering with P's ability to sail to it and round it on the correct side, S may do so without breaking rule 18. And once S has rounded the mark 18 is off between her and P (18.2(c)).
  25. Actually it's just when neither is clear astern. But your point is correct, you need to look at the definitions in RRS.
×
×
  • Create New...