Jump to content

TJSoCal

Members
  • Content Count

    956
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by TJSoCal

  1. Well, in this instance Blue's entitlement to mark-room includes room for Blue to tack when she can fetch the mark. So the question is whether, when Blue bore away, Yellow was also obligated to bear away so that Blue still had room to tack. Note that the facts presented do not include a change in wind direction but only a change in pressure. I think the question boils down to whether Blue had to bear away to continue to sail to the mark, or if it was a choice by Blue to try to maintain speed in a lull when she could have maintained her course (albeit slower). If the characteristics of
  2. That's true - rule 13 specifically turns off 10, 11 and 12 until the tacking boat is on a close-hauled course (but sails not necessarily trimmed close-hauled)
  3. Yes, but "tacking" (as in rule 13) is different from "on a tack". By the definition of "Tack, Starboard or Port", a boat is on the new tack as soon as she passes HTW and her windward side changes, even though she's still in the process of tacking and subject to rule 13. Even if a boat is luffing she's still on a tack, either starboard or port according to her windward side. I think there's a case (or might be a match racing call) that says that if a boat's windward side can't be determined (for example, she's holding HTW) then last point of certainty applies and she's on the tack that she
  4. Scenario is a starboard rounding so both boats are going for the port tack layline. 18(b) and (c) are turned off by 18.2(d) when W passes HTW, but 18 is turned off entirely by 18.1 when the boats are on opposite tacks on a beat to windward (and W is on port tack as soon as she passes HTW). But it turns back on again when both boats are back on the same tack, with a new entitlement to mark-room for the boat that's either inside overlapped or clear ahead.
  5. I'm not sure I'd say that L was "compelled" to break a rule. She could, for example, have eased sheets, slowed down and given W room to tack. But I think she is exonerated for the contact by 43.1(c) since she was ROW boat.
  6. I'm not sure about the "when mark room has been given" aspect, that's very confusing to me. If you're too literal about it it would seem like 18 is constantly turning on and off depending on whether the outside boat is giving room or not. I think it's more intended to convey that once the boat entitled to mark-room has rounded her entitlement to mark-room ends. In this situation I think W is entitled to room to tack, but as you note as soon as she passes HTW in the zone rule 18 turns off (boats are on opposite tacks on a beat to windward). It turns back on when L tacks and they're both on
  7. The definition tells you what mark-room is, but it's rule 18 that tells you whether it's on or not. If the conditions of 18.1 are met, the rule applies and 18.2 describes the obligations of the boat owing mark-room.
  8. Hmm - same fitting on both ends so that would imply some kind of end-for-end system, maybe? But on the other hand the end with the lines on it looks a lot more beat up than the other end...
  9. I think Casartelli's death in the 1995 Tour may have revived the issue but believe it was Andrey Kivilev in Paris-Nice in 2003 that tipped the scales. UCI made helmets mandatory in 2003.
  10. Need one of these social distancing sticks...
  11. I think they grandfathered NASBLA courses for the first couple of years but now require a new course. I can kind of see why since there's content specific to California regulations. There are several free options listed here. I did the one from DBW, you just have to read a PDF and they send you a 60 question multiple choice open book exam. Pretty easy and reasonably informative even if you're an experienced boater. Then the card is $10 and as far as I can tell it's lifetime. California has to grab cash for something, this isn't the worst thing they could do.
  12. Well that's the other sort of weird exemption: "A person operating a vessel in an organized regatta or vessel race, or water ski race." But I'm guessing they could still nab you on your way in or out.
  13. California's is phased in by age, starting with under 20 in 2018 and going up until everyone in 2025. They do have exemptions for certain licenses and certifications. The one aspect that irks me is they exempt rentals. Seems like that's a group that most ought to have to demonstrate some safety knowledge before they go out on the water. But I'm guessing that industry lobbying go that thrown in.
  14. It's a lot more government bullshit if you get caught without one. Don't know if USCG will be checking but if you get stopped by the local harbor patrol for any reason I imagine that will be on their checklist. $100-$500 fine and the court will order you to take a boating safety course and provide them with proof of completion within 7 months. This year it's required for anyone under 40, and by 2025 everyone will have to have it. Better I think to spend $10 and a little extra time, and it never hurts to brush up on boating safety.
  15. I'm in the process right now even though I've got a few years before it's required for me. It's pretty easy - there are a couple of free online self-study courses that fulfill the education requirement (I'm doing the one from California DBW and it's basically read a PDF pamphlet and do a paper exam which, as far as I can tell, is untimed and open book).
  16. Is that how they do appeals in your part of the world? ;-)
  17. Yeah, I think the important part is "this hearing is closed." Frequently in the explanation phase the competitor who lost will want to continue to argue their case, why the facts or conclusions were wrong, you didn't properly consider this or that, etc., etc. When I see that happen I'll usually tell them that the hearing has been closed, the decision is what it is and they have the right to file an appeal if they think it's wrong but the PC is not going to reverse itself now.
  18. The black & white procedural rules for a valid protest aren't difficult: Make your hail (if required) Fly your flag (if required) File in writing before the protest time limit Identify the incident in the written protest. Note that identifying the incident is all that's required to file. You don't have to identify the protestee (although that's required before the hearing) or the correct rule. And a greasy pizza box is an acceptable form. That's it. It's not that high a bar, and the protest committee doesn't really have the latitude to ignore it if the compe
  19. Well, 100% of protests are lost by someone. Frequently loss is due to one party or another (or both) not understanding the rules (and not the complicated ones, usually the simple ones). So protestees usually lose because they broke a rule, or protestors lose because they alleged a breach that wasn't (or sometimes on validity - but that's not the PC's fault). I believe that most juries do their level best (which, granted, is sometimes not very good if it's an ad hoc PC with little experience or training) to determine if a rule was broken or not. But recognize this often isn't an easy call
  20. A couple of other changes that impact sailors on the water: 16.2 "anti-hunting" rule now only applies on a beat to windward and applies when the keep clear boat has changed course to "pass to leeward" (rather than "pass astern") of the ROW boat. Old rule 55 (Trash Disposal) has been renumbered as rule 47. It now applies to support persons as well as competitors but may still carry a penalty less than disqualification. But the big change here is that rule 47 has been added to rules listed in rule 86 that can't be changed by NA prescriptions, NOR or SI. This change was introduced
  21. Good article on retrofitting with LED nav lights here.
  22. Friend of mine was over in Catalina, said that the Harbor Patrol came around on Monday and told everyone to get out or go to Cat Harbor.
  23. I've got one of those and like it as well. But I wouldn't clip it to a pulpit like the guy in the ad - I've seen an article about tests done by the Naval Academy that indicated that when lifeline systems fail it's almost always the pulpit structure that goes. Also, if you've got a double tether don't clip the spare tether back to your harness or you've just bypassed the quick release snap shackle - if you blow it you'll still be attached to the boat. I made a short loop of small stuff on the tether to hook the carabiners to when not in use so they don't dangle but the only thing on the ha
  24. I dunno, seems like the pros should be allowed to race for fun sometimes too. I doubt they're using their beer can wins to pad their resumes...
×
×
  • Create New...