Jump to content

TJSoCal

Members
  • Content Count

    1,051
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by TJSoCal

  1. Counterpoint example: Paul Elvstrom. Absent the Olympics would anyone have heard of him?
  2. If they're looking for an established class, why not something like a J 70 or similar? I'm thinking parameters ought to be: Under 30 feet, trailerable & shippable Crew of 3-5, plumbed however you please Planing sprit boat Non-carbon rig & sails to keep campaign costs down and keep focus on the fundamentals of sailboat racing - boatspeed, boathandling and tactics Probably an inshore W/L course - easier logistically and easier media coverage
  3. It seems to me that the oft-discussed deficiencies of racing under IRPCAS still exist at night, so replacing Part 2 with IRPCAS at night, while enhancing safety, has always been a compromise. So I say bravo to World Sailing for trying to come up with a more appropriate set of rules for the situation, and bravo to NOSA for putting them into practice. RV is still experimental so if anyone has gripes or suggestions, feel free to provide feedback via your NA.
  4. With electric and a reasonably sized battery bank you can have endurance or speed but not both. I'm guessing that with a 200 ah bank (~200 lb of batteries) and 80% discharge you'd get about 2 hours at 5 kt, 4 hours at 4 kt and 8 hours at 3 kt. With all due respect to Hitchhiker's requirement, how many Laser 28 or similar boats regularly need more range than that? And how many would trade all of their engine repairs & maintenance for that range limitation?
  5. Probably need four for a 48v motor though. But still.
  6. Yeah, if your objective is to keep boats out of the start/finish area then making a violator unwind just makes it worse
  7. Suggested wording from Dick Rose: After completing the first leg of the course, a boat shall not cross the starting line. A boat shall not cross the finishing line until she is completing the last leg of the course and finishes. A boat that breaks this rule shall not correct her error. However, she will be exonerated if she takes a Two-Turns Penalty (see rule 44.2). This changes rule 28.1. On a leg of the course from W to L or from L to W, boats may leave the line between S and F either to port or to starboard. For reasons of safety, on legs of the course from W to L or from L to W,
  8. Additionally, just making the line an obstruction doesn't prohibit boats from crossing it. You'd want language that restricts the line as well as defining it as an obstruction so boats approaching it are entitled to room to avoid it. And an alternative penalty less than DSQ wouldn't hurt.
  9. Did your SI specifically allow the RC to DSQ a boat breaking it without a hearing? If not, unless there was a valid protest & hearing I think the boat would have to be scored in her finishing place.
  10. That's easy - it's hard to sell $1800 watches if your $400 watches do the same thing.
  11. If you're looking at the watch option, something like a Garmin fenix 5 or 6 with the RaceQs smart watch app will give you much better racing functionality that what's shown in the Garmin app. So you could have a watch and a Prostart for a lot less than the cost of the MARQ Captain.
  12. True in general, but if one side of the valve in the OP picture is open with the handle pointing down and the handle only rotates CCW I think my diagram is the only way it can work.
  13. If I visualize an L-shaped port inside and the bottom is always open, then logically handle down (as shown in the picture) would be open to the left and rotating the handle 90* CCW would be open to the right. If it will rotate 180* then handle up would be all closed.
  14. I think it's a more common move in team racing than fleet racing. Changes to the rule for 2021 were specifically aimed at a team racing scenario where starboard might bear off below 90 degrees to the wind. Note that 16.2 is deleted in match racing so the dial-down is allowed.
  15. Agreed, the fact that OP could do this doesn't mean he should.
  16. If you think there was misconduct you yourself can make a Rule 69 report and I don't believe there's a time limit. But expect to be asked for evidence that the GBR actions were deliberate and collusive, not just errors.
  17. I would lean towards: At position 4, Green was ROW leeward and entitled to mark-room by 18.3(b) Red had room to keep clear and give mark-room by maneuvering promptly and in a seamanlike manner between 4 and 5. She did not. Green did not break 16.1. (once Green's inside overlap was established it shouldn't have been a surprise that she would luff up to make the mark). Red broke rule 11 and rule 18.3 Green and Red broke 14. If there is no injury or damage Green (ROW and sailing within the mark-room she's entitled to) is exonerated by 43.1(c)
  18. I would say yes, as long as port doesn't immediately have to change course to keep clear. But I think if I were on starboard I'd be leery of bearing away once port looked like she was committed to ducking - it seems like asking for trouble.
  19. 16.1 still prohibits starboard from "hunting up" in a close cross if it prevents port from keeping clear. But it only applies if port is so committed to the cross that she can no longer keep clear by tacking or ducking. So really only in the last few boat-lengths of a crossing situation. As long as port still has room to keep clear by tacking or ducking starboard is free to come up and close the door on a cross.
  20. Well, in this instance Blue's entitlement to mark-room includes room for Blue to tack when she can fetch the mark. So the question is whether, when Blue bore away, Yellow was also obligated to bear away so that Blue still had room to tack. Note that the facts presented do not include a change in wind direction but only a change in pressure. I think the question boils down to whether Blue had to bear away to continue to sail to the mark, or if it was a choice by Blue to try to maintain speed in a lull when she could have maintained her course (albeit slower). If the characteristics of
  21. That's true - rule 13 specifically turns off 10, 11 and 12 until the tacking boat is on a close-hauled course (but sails not necessarily trimmed close-hauled)
  22. Yes, but "tacking" (as in rule 13) is different from "on a tack". By the definition of "Tack, Starboard or Port", a boat is on the new tack as soon as she passes HTW and her windward side changes, even though she's still in the process of tacking and subject to rule 13. Even if a boat is luffing she's still on a tack, either starboard or port according to her windward side. I think there's a case (or might be a match racing call) that says that if a boat's windward side can't be determined (for example, she's holding HTW) then last point of certainty applies and she's on the tack that she
  23. Scenario is a starboard rounding so both boats are going for the port tack layline. 18(b) and (c) are turned off by 18.2(d) when W passes HTW, but 18 is turned off entirely by 18.1 when the boats are on opposite tacks on a beat to windward (and W is on port tack as soon as she passes HTW). But it turns back on again when both boats are back on the same tack, with a new entitlement to mark-room for the boat that's either inside overlapped or clear ahead.
×
×
  • Create New...