Jump to content

dtoc

Members
  • Content Count

    39
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

2 Neutral

About dtoc

  • Rank
    Newbie

Recent Profile Visitors

741 profile views
  1. @Editor Providence won the Chicago-Mackinac Trophy, for the slower half of the fleet. nosuprise (J-111) won the original Mackinac Cup, for the faster half of the fleet.
  2. It appears we do not have consensus on what defines having COVID managed well enough to have a large multi-national event. Not that there is ever consensus for anything in this forum. I do however believe that some of the US teams are actually very competitive and medal contenders. Women's 49erFX - Bronze 2020 Worlds, Men's 470, Laser, Laser Radial all strong.
  3. Ed posted a piece suggesting that the 2021 Olympics should be cancelled due to "high" covid case rates in Japan. Japan has managed Covid so well that a small increase suddenly is creating an outsized response. California only got below the per capita rate of Japan's spike last week but has long been considered as being "ready to open". The CA spike was about 22 times higher (2200%) of the highest Japanese spike. Is Covid really an issue in Japan for vaccinated Olympians or is something else at play here?
  4. Don't get too existential about it. A penalty that appears to not be arbitrary was given by the jury. Trying to beat down weekend warriors is not helpful, that's my point about the level of the event.
  5. That is extreme. There is no basis to say that because someone didn't do turns that they violated Rule 2 Fair Sailing. This happens all of the time and very likely B347 didn't feel that an alteration was needed / they kept clear. I'm not saying that it was "only a little nuisance" but to get to Rule 2 the violation has to be much greater and intentional with the possibility of getting witnesses to falsify their statements. Anyway, the impact to 9930 is very unlikely to be corrected. It is a very high bar to get redress from a foul where you can keep sailing. 30% per NoR/SI ba
  6. What was not clear in the original post is whether B347 was willing to accept the arbitration penalty. If so, then there is more sense in the Jury just deciding that the 30% is the right penalty to apply. The 4 points wasn't an arbitrary number that just kept the boat having 1st place.
  7. So with the penalty, B347 remained in 1st overall by 1 point but would have dropped to 7th with a DSQ. You finished in 6th overall. B347 did pass astern, so other than a late alteration he did not benefit from the foul. (Interested to hear if you believe otherwise) Jury past judgement on your protest that even though he was technically wrong, it was not enough to take his trophy away. (Was it dangerous or was there never a doubt that the collision would be avoided?) I am of two minds as to whether it is a good amendment and ruling. No, I was not at the event and do not eve
  8. dtoc

    clueless

    Going into the gybe, the twing on the old sheet wasn't tightened. Trimmer let the clew go way to far forward, should be able to complete a gybe with the kite centerlined. No one tripped the pole. Driver error (as is always the case) BTW - If you have never done this, you're not pushing hard enough. It's about not doing it twice in the same boat or with the same crew.
×
×
  • Create New...