Life Vests?

Roam

I'm hoping to start dinghy sailing soon and was wondering what sort of life vests you would recommend. As a noob I admit to knowing nothing but I expect I would want something low profile that didn't restrict movement. Starting off I'll be mostly sailing on the Potomac river.

Thanks,

Hugh

If you are a poor swimmer than a CG approved flotation device.  If you are a strong swimmer. a buoyancy aid will do fine.  APS has a video discussing this on their website.

Eric

I'm a decent swimmer, I used to be a strong swimmer but I'm older and more well rounded then I used to be. ;)

I'd like to get vests not just for myself about also for friends and family.

I'll look into the Neil Pryde.

thanks,

Hugh

I am a strong swimmer. On a dinghy I wear a vest unless the wind is almost nothing. Once somebody gets hit by a boom and drowns next to you, it takes that off the life jacket not wearing thought table. Just wear the vest. Yes it's slightly hot and slightly uncomfortable. Wear the vest. 

• 2 weeks later...
On 6/12/2017 at 10:00 AM, Claire1000 said:

I am a strong swimmer. On a dinghy I wear a vest unless the wind is almost nothing. Once somebody gets hit by a boom and drowns next to you, it takes that off the life jacket not wearing thought table. Just wear the vest. Yes it's slightly hot and slightly uncomfortable. Wear the vest. 

Or, if that doesn't do it for you, I wear a PFD when dinghy sailing because I want the extra buoyancy for when I capsize.  It makes it easier to do things in the water (uncleat lines, whatever), without the extra effort of having to also tread water while you're doing it.

ZHIK products are great. I have many of their items. Generally, all their stuff runs small. Be sure to order the next size. Happy Sailing!