Corsair / Farrier 31 /9 variations

I've decided to make the switch to a F/C31 after having an opportunity to sail aboard eric1207's boat. Now I'm just trying to sort through all the various models and decide which ones would work well here in the Puget Sound. I've looked at the various PHRF numbers but was hoping I might get some help here on what the variations mean in practical terms for the boat; such as shorter fixed vs rotating mast and inboard cassette vs the transom hung? 

What’s your program?  Racing, cruising, a bit of both?  

In the Bay Area most boats that race are the F-31R rotating+extended mast version with transum hung rudders, rating -15 to +10 on PHRF. Fun boats to sail.  Interiors vary a lot, as do boat weights.  You probably want the R variants since you are in a light airs area.

F-9 / F-9R is homebuilt / kit version of the F-31R, as far as I know. But i’m no expert - there are good specs / materials online if you google. 

F-31-1D is the turbocharged version of the F-31R with a bigger mast, significantly faster (about -35 PHRF if I remember correctly).

I own a rear cockpit 1995 Corsair F31, For solo sailing, I like the rear cockpit as it allows you to reach the outboard tiller for ease of maneuvering, I like the under slung rudder (we do encounter ventilation problems) as it allows the tiller to be forward of my (rear mounted) traveler, allowing to steer through a tack with your foot while tacking the jib, I have a 42'6" fixed mast, on OMR our rating system, we are quite competitive. Inside I like the pull out bed from under the cockpit floor as it makes a very roomy berth, the enclosed head offers good privacy as well. I don't like the lack of a (chart) table to eat at. 

On 7/14/2018 at 10:59 PM, galacticair said:

What’s your program?  Racing, cruising, a bit of both?