Cursing like a sailor

apophenia

I’ve been engineering software for 20 years, book-ended with dinghy sailing in college and SF Bay beercans for the last two years.

One thing perplexes me: what happened to cursing like a sailor? I feel like I tone it down a lot on the Lyft ride from the office to the dock.

What is this, the post-Wagnerian opera?!

What the fuck are you talking about?! 

Tell the Lyft driver to hit the goddam gas, put the joint down and drive like she’s going to an ExtinctionRevolution protest. 
But don’t use foul language on the course. Your boat might get protested by a PC boat near you. Happens more than not.

There's cursing and then there's cursing. Endlessly saying "fuck" and "shit" is low-class.

Generally sailors have good reasons to curse.

As for getting protested, fuck that shit. Those goddam faggots wanna complain about cursing can suck my dick.

FB- Doug

2 hours ago, Sail4beer said:

Tell the Lyft driver to hit the goddam gas, put the joint down and drive like she’s going to an ExtinctionRevolution protest. 
But don’t use foul language on the course. Your boat might get protested by a PC boat near you. Happens more than not.

Funny you should mention PC. One of the easiest ways to build team unity, I’ve found, is to wait until the new woman on the team lets slip something like: “WTF, this goddamn spec is completely wrong!”, and then looks embarrassed. After a pause, I reply with: “I’m glad to hear you use proper engineering terms!” Everyone has a laugh, tensions are reduced and shit gets done.

Maybe I just need to step up from beercans to more serious racing?

Like other things, cursing seems to ebb and flow with changes in culture. I remember talking with my dad and my uncle about how they had to "re-train" after returning from WWII. One was in Europe in the army and the other in the navy in the Pacific. My uncle said "we were used to saying 'pass the fuckin' potatoes' at mealtime."