Santa Cruz 27 owner needs all of your input

Winter solstice has passed. Summer approaches. 

I've got a problem. 

20 years of ambition and dreaming have made me the zealous owner of a Santa Cruz 27. 

She's a solid boat. Her hull was restored where she was mushy, the running rigging is up to date and the standing rigging hasn't fallen down yet. The sails are fair enough.

I know fuck all about racing sailboats. 

I'm planning to start racing in the Gorge with the Hood River Yacht club in April. I work as a nurse in the hospital, and have arranged to work weekends all summer, so I can sail the boat 4 days per week, and attend the Wednesday races all summer. I think its a good plan, except.......

So, please help me.

I understand the basics of sailing, but I need resources for learning. There are heaps of books and videos available. Please tell me your favorite resources for these topics

• Racing rules
  • Sail trim
  • Boat handling/maneuvers
  • Race tactics/strategy

I need experienced sailors in the Gorge to sail with. If you are one, or know one, please connect us. I will serve tuna sandwiches on whole grain bread and provide a boat.

Also, I need advice on ramp launching the boat, and raising the mast without a hoist. If you trailer a similar boat, please offer up your solutions. 

• Hinge from Ballenger Spars and an A-frame?
  • Single gin pole of height just above the spreaders?
  • other ideas
  • Cable winch to lower trailer into the water on boat ramp?
  • Long extension tongue on truck to lower trailer into water?

If you have a Santa Cruz 27, I would take old sails to thrash while learning in the high winds of the Gorge. I'm sure I will blow up a spinnaker this summer. 

About me: