Sunfish / Laser Innovations

I am a newbie to Dinghy Anarchy, a great forum.  I sail an old Sunfish from the lake behind my house, and am working on a number of areas where there appear to be room for improvement.   My 40+ year engineering career was mostly in fluid dynamics, so my focus is on things like fins and dagger boards, which are pretty much the same as wings and tail fins from airplanes.  This is all for recreational boaters who like to go fast on the water.   Friends with Lasers have asked me to apply what I am doing on my Sunfish to the Laser, so I just started on this.   See what I am doing at https://aerosouth.net/sailboats       I also started the 'Sunfish Speed Blog' (see separate thread on this forum) to encourage people to see if they can make this great little boat a bit faster.    https://aerosouth.net/the-sunfish-speed-blog       All comments are welcome, even the serious ones.....

• Like 1

Laser innovations would appear to be non-starters because of one-design issues. (See threads on ILCA etc.) Figuring out how to put foils on a Sunfish might keep you busy for a while though.  

2 minutes ago, PaulK said:

Laser innovations would appear to be non-starters because of one-design issues. (See threads on ILCA etc.) Figuring out how to put foils on a Sunfish might keep you busy for a while though.