What’s up, all? I’m not a beginner sailor. I’ve owned 4 sailboats so far....a flying Scot,a catalina 22,Chevy lee 28’, and finally I got an opti to teach my grandson!            
     So again, I’m not looking for a “beginner boat”. However I would call myself new to dinghy Sailing and planing. I was a cruiser. My 28 was full keel and SLOW!

So I’m trying to figure out which dinghy will suit me best.... I want a planing hull (I’m 180 lbs or so)that can be single-handed but has capacity for up to 4. With a spin/gennaker and jib. 
       I’ll probably sail solo mostly but I want the fractional sloop type rig cause I will be teaching some beginners and I want them to be at home on cruising boats and to go with me double handing the dinghy.also I would like to be able to take 2, maybe 3 adults with me in reasonable comfort.
       I’ve flown a spinnaker a grand total of I think 3 times but I want it. I want to learn it and I want to plane...fast!    I’m fairly fit, and have always done “balance” sports( skateboarding, water skiing, wakeboarding, etc. 

so, yeah, I want a performance boat. ...oh almost forgot, it’s gotta be cheap!(lol). I’m hoping to spend under $4000.

So what do you think, how close to these wants can I get for that. What designs are good? I like that topaz  Argo? Or one of the rs models.

I’ve never used a trapeze but it looks fun.

• Like 1
  • 1 month later...

I'm always shopping for boats - I think budget is a main concern (for you) - plus, you didn't mention how you are going to store and launch, etc.

RS and Topaz stuff looks great but there are so many options (boats). If you want 3 Adults you have to go to a certain size range - like the RA Quest. You will spend 12K by the time you are done. I just tried one out last week.