Happy Birthday Clapton

Eric's birthday was 2 days ago..... Mine is today.

The Beano and Fresh Cream albums were what inspired me to get serious about playing guitar.

I did that for a living for 40 years. As a result, if I ever met EC I wouldn't know whether to kiss him of curse him.

A great guitarist who matured into a great songwriter and singer, and a man who managed to overcome his addictions and arrogance to become a good person.

Happy birthday Slowhand.

• Like 1

Fun fact... EC chartered the Bruce King designed SIGNE back in the early 90's. He wrote this instrumental track during the charter, called SIGNE.

This is SIGNE

GkOmwUw5TFqcLxsee2As_Signe-yacht-for-sale-1280x720.thumb.jpg.b21e767a14a275bd7d925f4e44114669.jpg

• Like 1

A guy who played bass in my band 30-some years ago had a close encounter with EC. He was playing at the Backstage Bar near the Perth Entertainment Centre when Clapton came in after his concert, very drunk. The band was on a break, standing at the bar.

EC ordered two triple Brandy Alexanders, downed them within minutes, laughed when they asked if he wanted to jam, and then collapsed on the floor. A taxi was called, and my mate helped carry him out.

I'll go one better. :lol: EC had a house in Antigua.

Early 90's, we were in Falmouth Harbour, on the turps at The Mad Mongoose playing pool. In walks this scruff and puts his money on the table for the next game... Had a game, a few laughs & got my arse kicked in the game. I had no idea 'til later it was EC.

1 hour ago, quod umbra said:

HBD EC. 
If only you had gotten comfortable in your skin earlier in life.

Then he wouldn't be the incredible musician that he is.  

Great art never comes from happiness.

• Like 2
1 hour ago, Ed Lada said:

Then he wouldn't be the incredible musician that he is.  

Great art never comes from happiness.