Alden had the hull and deck of my boat cast in fibre glass in the UK in 1959-60. Hallmatic shipped the hull and attached deck, along with a thick roll of blue prints, to the Poul Molich boatyard in Denmark to be finished. There, along with the cockpit, interior, spars, the Danes built my house 60 years ago. 

When I bought the boat, the house was already 40 years old. I was an experienced home builder but I didn't know much about these houses. We sailed it every season but the house was showing some battle scars after 40 years. Christened in the Great Lakes, it made it's way to the Bahamas as a charter boat for a few years. Somewhere in that time it raced to Bermuda a couple times, which left big metal threaded inserts for storm panels stuck in the side of the house.

And because of it's peculiar construction (solid glass deck joining a 20' plank of mahogany), you can see in these old photos(my son at about 10 in the port is now 29),  there were problems with moisture along the joint. Still, the boat never missed a full season of sailing on the coast of Maine.

I knew wood; keep it sealed, keep it dry. An annual coat of varnish stabilized the old house. 

2032884722_TTintheport.thumb.jpg.d03a7b165aa07b4330884fe138a11514.jpg

The old Danish house is 60 years old this season. I've grown and learned from wooden boat building friends. New techniques have evolved like an epoxy filet joint from glass deck to wood with a 1" tape set in a shallow gain to replace the old caulking and covering board. And simple wood plugs and a few 'dutchman patches' to repair the inevitable splits and cracks, that is the nature of wood. 

But wood is an amazing material. Strong, resilient, even a little forgiving of poor care. It waited while I learned some needed skills to care for it. 

The old house at 59: 

1032809671_Portshapecopy.thumb.jpg.64570642eac26d5970584057d558cfc8.jpg

But I knew the area of the house along the deck was still ailing.