In Case You Haven't Seen It...

I hate that feeling when you catch the broach, but roll immediately into the round down, and you have that moment to regret catching the broach...

• Like 5
20 hours ago, apophenia said:

Big Moore 24 energy:

The M24 approaching 50yrs amazing bang for the buck.  George and Ron did good.  Open transom mod sure looks nice.

• Like 1
1 minute ago, LB 15 said:

From the thread title I was hoping to see a certain Hitler vid!

image.jpeg.d2226b86d89d968f4a8e84628398fc19.jpeg

• Like 1

She didn't seem to be very bow up for the last 30 second or so before it all went tits. I got the impression that the bow going in and loading everything up was probably what lead to the broach in the first place.

I have no experience of the 3300, do they tend to stick the bow in?

4 hours ago, European Bloke said:

She didn't seem to be very bow up for the last 30 second or so before it all went tits. I got the impression that the bow going in and loading everything up was probably what lead to the broach in the first place.

I have no experience of the 3300, do they tend to stick the bow in?

They’re normally more bow up but then again there was a lot of pressure in the video and the YouTube description said something about the wind being over 30kts, looks like the pole could have been a smidge further forwards and clews a bit lower but I think he gets a 10/10 for effort. The French are a bit mad when it comes to sailing on the West coast single handed in far too much wind.

• Like 3

Would have been interesting to see the order of operations in the clean-up. Do you try and gybe it back or do you get the new runner on, dump any ballast then fix the spi pole once you are settled?

If I recall correctly a few hours after that Moore video was taken, they were demasted and picked up by the coast guard.  They later went out and recovered the Moore and towed it back to Morro Bay.