I am in the upcoming Golden Globe Race. I'm looking to add a hydro generator to my solar power. Anyone have experience this manufacturer or any other brands. Reliability is paramount! Looking for real life experiences, including failures.

• Like 3

I have zero experience with these, but do they work well at the displacement speeds that Golden Globe Race boats sail at? 

production-curve-cruising-300-gb.jpg

• Like 1

I think there are different versions for that work for different boat speeds. They seem to have a good amount of spare parts available if repairs are needed. Watt & Sea was founded by VG winner Yannick Bestaven so there’s some pedigree behind the product. They have just brought out a wind generator as well

1 hour ago, Alex W said:

I have zero experience with these, but do they work well at the displacement speeds that Golden Globe Race boats sail at? 

production-curve-cruising-300-gb.jpg

The Golden Globe boats actually sail?  Is that with or without their kelp reef?

I thought they were just shoved along by the wind and current.  

• Like 1

I was wondering just how long it would take a S/A dick to show up...

If I can plan on sailing the Southern Ocean and looking up at the seas... I can ignore you!

• Like 1

We have sailed offshore with one for the last four years,  I have lots of comments. Maybe PM me?

IMG_1292 small.JPG

• Like 1
Posted (edited)
7 minutes ago, Fiji Bitter said:

Why not share it with all of us?

Because I am wordy, probably boring, and SA (often) is a somewhat hostile environment where a few folks seem to engage in the equivalent of just plain trolling?

I think they are in general... an essential piece of gear aboard or boat and the manufacturer has provided very essential and very good product support for us. 

Even though we have 600 watts of PV... We still really need the Watt&Sea on passages.

Edited by 2flit
added content
  • Like 2
Just now, 2flit said: