Hi all, I was hoping to get some advice on buying a Force 5.

Here is a link to the ad:

https://seattle.craigslist.org/tac/boa/d/gig-harbor-force-sailboat-trailer/7321184386.html

I have lots of experience with sailing (Lasers and sunfish included) and fiberglass repairs. However, I've never seen a Force 5 in person. The price seems right but is it possible to fix the mast step? The owner mentioned that "the mast doesn't sit at the correct angle". That's all I know at the moment so let's assume it needs to have the whole step rebuilt. Is it worth buying? I know that's a loaded question but I just thought I would see if the consensus is go for it or forget about it.

Thanks!

Josh

2 hours ago, PNWSailor said:

https://seattle.craigslist.org/tac/boa/d/gig-harbor-force-sailboat-trailer/7321184386.html

I have lots of experience with sailing (Lasers and sunfish included) and fiberglass repairs. However, I've never seen a Force 5 in person. The price seems right but is it possible to fix the mast step? The owner mentioned that "the mast doesn't sit at the correct angle". That's all I know at the moment so let's assume it needs to have the whole step rebuilt. Is it worth buying? I know that's a loaded question but I just thought I would see if the consensus is go for it or forget about it.

Thanks!

Josh

Fix is the same as a Laser or Sunfish mast step. IMHO the best way is cut out a panel of the deck along side the mast step and have good access to do good fiberglass work inside, then FG tape that panel back in.

BITD I sailed/raced a Force 5 a lot, liked it considerably more than the Laser. Make sure compression rings on the rudder post are good, they're the cheapest part of the assembly and quickest to corrode...

FB- Doug