Laser sailor learning to trapeze

As a fit 193 cm (6 foot 4), 18yo laser sailor how quickly will I pick up trapezing? I have only ever raced optis and lasers and have helmed 420 maybe a dozen times but never crewed so I have no experience on the wire.

• Like 1

10 minute shore drill and you're away. So very quickly.

I run a program that teaches non sailors to sail twin wire skiffs [ Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/Mr-Bond-The-Ballina-Skiff-Sail-Training-Group-110226546310465  : If you scroll down, you'll see photos of the shore drill ], so teach this all the time.

And after a ten minute shore drill, they're on the water and playing the main (and setting the kite and playing it from the wire too).

It helps to have a sensible sort of skipper who will help you transition and won't expect you to crash tack on the first day.

You are a kid, you are fit and strong. It isn't like you are learning how to do triple axels, or playing the Mendelssohn concerto #1 or anything. That includes skiff sailing. You can figure it out.

• Like 1
59 minutes ago, jasper7427 said:

cool, thanks.

and as for getting used to skiff sailing? I've heard its rather different. 

Not looking to race (Yet).

Which class?

Years ago, I went from trapezing on a skiff (racing a Farr 3.7) to Laser racing, though I had the benefit of sailing junior classes previously.

Key lesson is to keep the front leg straight, and bend the back one slightly - more if there is chop). It took a while to get into that habit, and the consequence is the tendency to pivot around (or at least towards) the forestay.

I discovered that downwind stability (without a kite) had more to do with a higher centre of effort, and as many skiffs have higher aspect mainsails, be prepared for a tough learning curve. (Spinnakers mostly tend to stabilise - until the point of being overpowered).