hi guys. ok, so i am just getting into trailering  since moving to the New Mexico. I have a nice little Supercat 17. Picked it up a few years back in New Hampshire, sailed it in Rhode Island for a couple of years out of the Herreshoff museum, and then dragged it out here behind my 06 Toyota Matrix.

The question I have is, how far are you guys willing to trailer with the trampoline still rigged?

cheers

2 hours ago, eastern motors said:

Why would you take the tramp off for trailering?

Windage. My Matrix is a smallish light car. She did ok cross country with no tramp..... 

Does your S17 trailer flat like a Hobie or angled up like a Tornado?

Flat has minimal windage, layed out parallel.with the ground and mostly sheltered by the hulls. Angled up, I could see your concern in crosswinds, though.

6 minutes ago, randii said:

Does your S17 trailer flat like a Hobie or angled up like a Tornado?

Flat has minimal windage, layed out parallel.with the ground and mostly sheltered by the hulls. Angled up, I could see your concern in crosswinds, though.

Its flat. The 17 is street legal. My concerns are just that I have never done this before.

Thanks heaps for your input. Makes me feel more comfortable. Cheers mate

Nice thing about a car that narrow/low and a boat that wide is that you will be able to see exactly what's going on behind you in your side mirrors and maybe even under the tramp in your center mirror!

If you're going to be trailering a ton, IMHO the best Investments you can make are in tie downs, trailer tires, and wheel bearing maintenance. 

• Like 1

towed our Prindle Cat with a 68 VW to San  Felipe and back about 400 miles never had a problem. had a coffee cup that road all the way back home still sitting on the tramp.

• Like 2